Split Pea Soup

It’s been a chilly rainy day in Athens, OH. It was the absolute perfect kind of day to make soup!

I recently saw this blog post on Eat, Live, Run and new that I wanted to make it.

When I was little. I would NOT even TRY split PEA soup. YUCK. It looked disgusting. My dad seemed to love it though. My mom made it for him often. A few months back I went on a buying spree at Kroger. I decided that I should make all of my beans at home (instead of opening up cans full of sodium). Don’t ask me how well that experiment went…but I digress.

Needless to say, I had a bag of dried split peas on hand when the split pea soup recipe came through my google reader. I decided to give it a whirl.

I altered Jenna’s recipe just a tiny bit…

  • 1 bag dried split peas, (1lb) rinsed (no need to pre-soak)
  • 6 c. chicken stock
  • 2 c. water
  • 3 carrots, diced
  • 3 stalks of celery, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 2 tsp sea salt (I held off on adding this until the end)
  • 2 c. left over ham, diced into bit sized chunks

Dump everything (except the sea salt & ham) in a large stock pot & bring to a boil. Once the soup is boiling, cover, and turn down to simmer. I only had to simmer it for about an hour and a half before the peas were broken down. At that point, I turned the heat up to high & cooked it for another 20-30 minutes until the soup thickened. THEN, I tossed in the left over ham and the sea salt. No doubt, using a fresh ham hock would be awesome…I just didn’t have any of those on hand :) I did, however, have left over easter ham in the deep freezer. Yay! Pull out the bay leaf and serve warm with some yummy bread. Oh so good on a chilly fall day.

* I used chicken stock to impart more flavor *I added garlic b/c when you have carrots, celery, and onions…garlic is a must! *I didn’t toss the salt in until the end b/c I’ve heard that it can make the skins of beans tough…didn’t know if it had the same affect on peas *I waited to toss the ham in until the end b/c since it was already fully cooked through, it would have lost all of it’s flavor if it had simmered for hours. :)

 

**Note…I did toss a little tiny big bit of ham into the soup as it simmered, but then pulled it out at the end (just before adding the “fresh” ham). It was, as I expected, tough and unflavorful.

**Head over to ELR website for a photo and the original recipe!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Soups

Leave a Reply

