Discipleship Group

As some of you know ~ I meet every Thurs night with a group of fantastic women to share, learn, and grow in God’s Word. Well, I used to 😦 I’m on a 2 month hiatus right now (but planning to skype in some time soon!)

From the outset, we decided that we were going to read through the bible in a year. That was October 2008. Now it is almost July & I have read Gen-2 Kings in the old testament and Matthew-Acts, consecutively for the first time ever in my life. It’s amazing how much you can learn if you truly seek & dig into HIS word asking HIS spirit to guide you. It is only by the grace of God that I’ve been able to accomplish this feat. If you knew me before~ you’d know that I was terrible at consistently reading my bible. I was a sporadic “flipper”. I’d jump around to the verses that were “feel good verses” skipping the lineage, laws, and even many of the OT stories. The Lord has shown me in these last few months how the entire Bible is amazingly relevant to my life. He has impressed on my heart that I should treasure every word. 

Today I was reading Romans 8. Wow. What an amazing chapter. Seriously, I’m pretty sure I underlined almost every single word in the chapter. There are so many good ones! 

Here are some of the verses that stuck out to me today: 

Romans 8:15 “For you did not receive a spirit that makes you a slave again to fear; but you received the Spirit of sonship.” … Not only did God send His son to die for us~ but actually adopted us into His family. This verse paints adoption in a very new light for me. I am an adopted child on this earth (my parents adopted me when I was a little baby 🙂 ) but also I am an adopted child of the living God. 

Romans 8:24 “For in this hope we were saved. But hope that is seen is no hope at all. Who hopes for what he already has? But if we hope for what we do not yet have, we wait for it patiently.” …. Well, I’m not so sure that I’m patiently waiting! but waiting none-the-less. I loved this verse b/c it points to our human need to know & see everything while pointing out how silly that is. 

Romans 8:26-27 “In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express. And he who searchers our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints in accordance with God’s will”….I found great peace in this verse. Some times it’s hard to know what to pray for..and how to most effectively pray it. I know when I first started praying out loud in front of other people, I was often afraid of what they might think of my prayers. I worried a lot about the words that came out of my mouth. Reading verses like this give me so much peace b/c I it doesn’t really matter what I say (well, you know what I mean…) b/c the Holy Spirit is placing is interceding for me! Giving the control up has made me feel more at ease when I pray. 

There are so many more verses in this chapter that I could write about ~ but for the sake of time, I’ll stop here. 

To my ladies out there~ you know who you are~ I love you so much for taking this journey with me! XOXOXO

Leave a comment

Filed under Austin Stone

Leave a Reply

