Roasted Vegetables and Polish Sausage

I made another successful meal in our bity little kitchen today! Yahhooo!

Steve kept saying, “boy this is good” now… this might be a reflection of our lack of “normal” food lately, or it might really be a fantastic meal. You’ll have to try it yourself to find out. I thought it was pretty yummy!

Prep time: 15 minutes Bake time: 1 hour Serves: 2 people

Roasted Vegetables:

  • 1/2 sweet white onion (e.g., vdalia)
  • 1 large yellow bell pepper (or any flavor, although I liked the sweetness this one gave vs. a green pepper)
  • 3 large garlic cloves, skin taken off but left whole
  • 4 small baking potatoes, diced into quarters with the skin on
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • coarse ground black pepper to taste (yes, I splurged & bought olive oil & pepper!)

Cut the 1/2 onion into quarters keeping the pieces in fairly large chunks. If you cut the onions to small, they will stick to the pan & they will burn. Cut the pepper into 1/2in thick strips. Submerge the garlic cloves in steaming hot water for 2 minutes, remove & peel off skins. Keep the garlic cloves WHOLE. I promise, trust me on this. Wash & dice the tiny baking potatoes leaving the skin on.

Put all of the veggies into a small/med casserole dish. Add the olive oil and black pepper. Do not add any salt at this point as it will draw the water out of the onions & they won’t caramelize as well during baking. If you want to add salt, wait until right before serving it 🙂 although, I don’t expect you’ll need it. Time to get your hands dirty. Stick your hands in the mixture & toss the veggies making sure to coat all of them in the black pepper & olive oil.

Put the baking dish in the oven at 400 degrees for approx 60 min. I stirred my veggies twice during the baking process. You want to make sure they’re not burning, but don’t go pushing them around too much b/c then you won’t allow them to caramelize. I used a dish that was probably about 1 quart (in terms of size)… the veggies were hanging out on top of each other a bit. If you use a flat baking pan, or a 9×13, you’ll probably need to bake the dish for less time… just fyi.

Polish Sausage:

When you have about 10-15 minutes left on your veggies, it’s time to start the sausage. The sausage we bought was pre-cooked, so all I had to do was warm it through. I cut 5 diagonal slits almost all of the way through each sausage (2 in total). Then filled a fry pan with about 1 in of water & turned the heat up to medium high. I let the water boil away (which warms the center of the sausages) and then crisp up the skins. Be careful though, the skins crisp up QUICKLY once the water has evaporated. It’s easy to burn them, so be sure to turn the after 30-60 sec.

Serve with a slice of crusty bread & butter.

… back to the roasted garlic~ the whole cloves are not only to season the veggies, but they are also edible and incredibly tasted. They have this nutty flavor to them. If you’ve never tasted roasted garlic before, you must try it. I just pop them in my mouth whole 🙂 but if you’re a bit wary, try spreading the clove on the bread. It’s just fantastic.

Enjoy!

This is NOT the best photo… (not taken with the Nikon) 🙂 but it will give you an idea of what the meal looked like!

P1010298

3 Comments

Filed under Main Course, Recipes

3 responses to “Roasted Vegetables and Polish Sausage

  1. Krista Kurtzweil

    okay YUM! I want some 🙂

  2. Karen

    Where did you find the recipe? Did you make it up yourself?

    • steveandbrit

      I just made it up myself~ I had to guess on the oven temp.. thought that 400 was a good ‘roasting’ temperature and then I just kept checking until it started to caramelize 🙂 Turned out pretty good. I miss baking though~ and my kitchen aid! 🙂

Leave a Reply

