Savory Sweet Apple Onion Stuffing

Food variety has been a challenge here for a few reasons

  1. They have less choices than the US
  2. Things are more expensive, and I’m cheap, so I don’t want to spend too much on fancy sauces/spices (also, we’re leaving in a few weeks, so it doesn’t make sense to invest when you’re headed home!)
  3. They eat a lot of pork here, which is one meat that Steve & I rarely eat at home (they don’t eat much chicken at all which is pretty much what we LIVE on!)… so pretty much I don’t have an arsenal of recipes in my head like I would if this country was big on chicken šŸ™‚

SO! having said that, I’ve been trying to be more creative with what I make for sides that will go well with all different types of entrees. We had some sausage in the fridge, and I remember this Rachael Ray show I’d seen eons ago about “stuffing muffins”…I think she put a combo of sausage & apples in the mix. So, I decided to create some sweet & savory stuffing that would pair well with the saltiness of the sausage.

Here’s what I came up with! Savory Sweet Apple Onion Stuffing

DSC_1173

Ingredients

  • 1/2 loaf of good whole wheat/whole grain bread (bakery style, not processed), cubed, & dried (see recipe below)
  • 1/2 large red onion cut into thin slices
  • 3 cloves garlic finely minced
  • 1 moderate-tart apple cored & diced, skin on (be sure to pick something that will hold up in the heat, tart apples work better for this recipe just be sure not to use a red delicious or equivalent. I think I used a variety like a gala?)
  • approx 2 c. chicken broth
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • olive oil

Other things I would include if I were back home: celery, craisins, dash of cinnamon

For the bread:

Choosing a good bread is KEY. You want to pick something that will have a lot of flavor, but that can still hold up to the chicken broth. When I’m at home, I’m usually lazy & just used the “crouton/stuffing packages” … but this was unbelievably better. It’s worth the extra effort. What I did was cube the bread (crust & all) and then let it sit on a baking sheet in open air for a few hours. This was probably unnecessary (to let it sit), but we had the time, so it was just one way to start the drying process. Then, I heated the oven up to about 375 and stuck the baking sheet in the oven. I kept checking the cubes until they were thoroughly dried, like small croutons. I can’t remember how longs this took… maybe 10 minutes? But be careful not to let them burn!

While the bread is in the oven:

Saute the onion & garlic in a large stock pot over low/med heat till caramelized (if you were including the celery it would go in at this stage). After the veggies are nice & tender, add in a small amt of chicken broth. BE careful, b/c if you have the pan hot, the broth will boil & steam up really quickly, so don’t burn yourself on the hot steam!!! Get about 1/2 inch of chicken broth in the bottom of the pot with the veggies & then add in the bread cubes. Keep stiring the cubes trying to get them evening ‘moistened’ …add broth little by little continuing to stir until the bread is softened, but still holds it’s shape. During this step, you’ll want to add in the apples (and craisins), salt, pepper (cinnamon & poultry seasoning). Warm the apples through & serve! We enjoyed these with some sausages (or Bangers as you’d call them in London!)

Cheers!

DSC_1174

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes, Side dishes

Leave a Reply

