Time is running out

I can’t believe that we’ll be home LESS than one week today. This last week is just flying by~ as I knew it would. Qualitative camp has been fantastic. Not suprisingly it’s beautiful here~ and more importantly, we’ve had the opportunity to interact with students/scholars/researchers from ALL over the world. An event like this really broadens you understanding not only your research, but also life in general. In the weeks before the camp, I fully expected to have this “perspective broadening experience”….

….NOW, what I did NOT expect was re-integration stress. Wow. The people who wrote the literature on Ex Patriots & their reintegration process back into their home countries were absolutely right on. This is a lot tougher than I thought it would be. I know, I know, I’m not home in Austin yet, but a little bit of home came here to help us start the process.

The last two days I’ve been feeling very overwhelmed with all of the people around me, all of the talk, all of the noise. I am NOT used to any of this any more. It’s been a lot to take in. Under normal circumstances, I would thrive under these conditions, but right now I’m pacing myself. I’ve been a lot more quiet (and you believe it?) and reserved during this camp. I’m trying to remember what it’s like to have these kinds of daily interactions with other people, other americans. It is a process. I’m glad we’ve started it over here b/c I only have 1 week after we return to TX before I start teaching!! YIKES! You look away for a second & life just happens.

Needless to say, now more than ever, I appreciate the tranquilty & peace we’ve experienced during our time in Norway.

Still, we’re looking forward to seeing friends more than ever. This week has given us a taste of what we’ve been missing and we’re happy to be headed home on Monday 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Austin, Norway, School

2 responses to “Time is running out

  1. Karen

    Hi Hon and Hon-in-law,
    I wish you could stop by Townsend on your way back to Austin, for a couple days; to help you ease into your fast-paced American way of life. We miss you guys. Hope to Skype with you soon.
    Love,
    Mom (Karen)

  2. intergalacticallstars

    Can’t wait for you to get home!

Leave a Reply

