Corn & Black Bean Chop Salad with Yankee Cornbread

DSC_0185

I am a nerd. I know it & readily admit it. I mean, you can’t really be in a phd program with out “copping” to your nerd status right? Well, I’m about to make a confession that will advance my nerd status to the next level ~ nerd-da-cious. 🙂 One of my favorite things about fall food is corn on the cob (off the cob). Why you may ask, because I like cutting my corn OFF the cob and seeing how many pieces I can keep in a row all “stuck” together. Steve makes fun of my endlessly for this habit. I just don’t like eating corn straight off of the cob. I think I can blame this one on my mom who always cut it off for me when I was little. The habit just stuck. While my brother ate corn like he was a little rabbit (munching around the cob leaving random pieces of corn as  he went), I preferred the “neater, cleaner” method of cutting my little kernels off into a nice little pile on my plate. I still get excited when I can get a nice long row of kernels that all stick together. Whew. So that was my nerd-da-cious confession of the day.

Having explained all of that about corn, let’s get to the good stuff, RECIPES! Corn is what ties this salad & the bread together …yummy corn in the salad & (technically) in the bread (just not in kernel form). This was an amazingly fresh & light dinner for a few nights. As long as you don’t put the dressing on the entire salad right away, the lettuce & veggies seem to hold up okay. Here goes….

Ingredients for Salad
•    2 ears of corn, cooked
•    1 c. freshly diced cherry tomatoes
•    1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
•    3 c. fresh spinach lettuce, julienned
•    ¼ c. fresh cilantro, julienned
•    1 large green pepper, diced
•    3 scallions, diced

DSC_0190
Microwave (7 min) or boil corn until cooked. Let cool slightly. When able to handle, cut the corn off of the cob & put it into a colander. Run cold water on the corn until completely cooled.
While the corn is cooking & cooking, prepare the rest of the salad. Drain and thoroughly rinse the can of black beans and place them in a large bowl. Dice the scallions, green pepper, & cherry tomatoes. Julienne (or finely chop in long thin strips) the cilantro & the spinach leaves. Add the fresh veggies together in the bowl with the beans. Add in the cooled corn. Toss all of the ingrediants together. If serving immediately, you can toss with dressing. I preferred to drizzle it on right before serving.

Ingredients for Dressing
•    2 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
•    1 Tbsp Dijon mustard
•    4 Tbsp olive oil
•    Salt & black pepper to taste

Whisk together until fully incorporated & drizzle over salad. Steve said he liked just plain oil & vinegar together intead ☺
Serve with the Betty Crocker Wedding Cookbook Cornbread Recipe. Use the “Yankee” or sweet cornbread recipe… I can definitely post this recipe if any one wants it! Just let me know. Cheers!

DSC_0188

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes, Salads

Leave a Reply

