Gingerbread Muffins

Sorry folks, no picture on this one… Why?

Because:

1. I am lazy

2. They look like any other little brown muffin πŸ™‚

BUT ~ if you are craving something gingerbread, these are AMAZING. Seriously, best muffins I’ve made in a long time. They are the perfect balance of moist (on the inside) and stable on the outside. Lately, I’ve either ended up with dry muffins or muffins that are a bit “too” moist after day 1. These ones are the perfect balance~ and the perfect treat for fall.

Well, fall somewhere other than ATX. Yes, it’s like 90 & MUGGY here today πŸ™‚

I adapted this recipe from one I found in a hometown cookbook called “So Dear to Our Hearts” It’s a cook book that was put together by the Appleton Medical Center (in WI) and friends.

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 3 Tbsp plain, low fat vanilla yogurt
  • 3 Tbsp canola oil
  • 1/4 c. molasses
  • 1/4 c. brown sugar
  • 1/4 c. white sugar
  • 1 & 1/2 c. flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 c. boiling water

In a stand mixer (or a medium bowl) beat yogurt, oil, molasses, and sugars. Add in egg and beat till incorporated. In another bowl, stir together the dry ingredients. Add the dry ingredients to the egg/sugar mixture. Then mix in the cup of boiling water until it is completely mixed in.

Fill greased (or paper lined) muffin cups 2/3 full. If desired, you can sprinkle with a bit of white sugar before baking. Bake @ 350degrees for 20-25 min (min took 23 min) until done. Yield 1 doz muffins.

——

couple notes here… the original recipe called for 1/4 c. of applesauce instead of the 3 tbsp of yogurt I used. I’ve made it that way before & I liked this verision better. Also, I modified the sugars to be a blend of brown & white instead of all white granulated sugar. Finally, I added in a tsp of baking powder. The last time I made these, I thought they were a little flat… not fluffy/risen enough. So I fixed that problem with a bit of baking powder! πŸ™‚

Hope you enjoy! They definitely put me in the holiday mood!

3 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Recipes

3 responses to “Gingerbread Muffins

  1. Karen

    They sound really good! I don’t have all the ingredients so I’ll have to wait until I go to the grocery store. πŸ˜›

  2. Rhonda

    I tried these tonight. They were excellent. Nice and moist. Thanks for the recipe. It is a keeper.

Leave a Reply

