Savory Bacon & Cheese Quiche

P1010333

Ah yum. Yeah, that’s what this dish made me say, outloud ๐Ÿ™‚ Seriously, I feel like I’ve been in a bit of a cooking slump lately. I tried to make a pan seared chicken last night… and it was just okay. I mean, edible, but nothing to try to replicate! (or take pictures of for that matter!!) So today I was bound & determined to cook Steve a yummy meal! I had purchased some pie crusts awhile back, but hadn’t gotten around to using them yet (no, I didn’t make them from scratch this time). Tonight was the perfect opportunity.

P1010332

I thought I was going to have to use milk in this quiche b/c I didn’t have cream & then magically I found some half & half in the fridge!!! YAY!!! I avoided the possibility of “soggy” quiche. I looked at probably 10 recipes before deciding to include the ingredients below. It was kind of a combo of a bunch of different recipes~ so I was amazed when it worked out so well! I hope you enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

P1010335

Ingredients

  • 1 pre-bought pie crust
  • 4 eggs +1 yolk
  • 1 ยฝ c. half & half
  • 1 egg white
  • 2 c. shredded motz cheese (freshly shredded)
  • 5 chopped green onions
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • olive oil
  • 25 (small pre-cooked bacon) or 10 large pieces of regular bacon cooked till crispy. Crumble
  • dash nutmeg
  • salt
  • pepper

P1010339

Spray pie plate with Pam cooking spray. Dust pie plate with flour. Set pie crust in pie pan to take the chill off 15 min. While crust is coming to room temp, shred cheese. Dice onions & garlic and sautรฉ in a pan till tender. Cook bacon till crispy & crumble. Combine the cheese, cooled onions, garlic, & bacon.

Brush the bottom & sides of the pie crust with egg white. Put cheese mixture in bottom of pie plate. Combine eggs (and extra yolk), half & half, and seasonings. Pour over crust. Cover outer edges of crust with foil & bake at 400 for 20 min. Remove foil. Bake for another 20-25 min until the quiche is brown & bubbly and center is set.

When the quiche is done, it will not โ€œwiggleโ€ any more โ˜บ Let sit five mins before cutting & serving. AMAZING!

P1010341

I couldn’t stop myself so I went back for a second piece. Probably not the smartest decision b/c I AM STUFFED. But oh so good!!! Hope you enjoy!

6 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Main Course, Recipes

6 responses to “Savory Bacon & Cheese Quiche

  1. That looks amazingly good. Bacon and cheese happen to be 2 of my favorite things. Bookmarking!

  2. lailablogs

    Looks absolutely delicious ….
    Laila .. http://lailablogs.com/

    • Steve & Brit

      Thanks so much Laila! Just spent some time on your site & you have some yummy looking things on there!!! Looking forward to trying a few ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Andrew

    I want that in my mouth now. That looks incredible.

Leave a Reply

