An Amazing Blessing

The last few week have been amazing and frustrating at the same time. I’ve had such amazing news to share but have been unable to share it! So here it is….. drum roll……

I HAVE A JOB AND WE’RE MOVING TO OHIO!!!

Ohio University

I got a call from Ohio University Oct 10th. I thought they were calling to schedule an interview at NCA… nope, they wanted me to come out for a campus visit/interview!!! UM SERIOUSLY? I was incredibly excited for the trip, but also overwhelmed with all that had to be done in a 10 day period!

For those who aren’t in the academy, this next part might be tough to understand… but when you’re “on the market” you really don’t talk about it with other people who are job hunting. It’s easier to just not talk about it. You don’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings…AND you don’t want to tell people in the department you have an interview in case you don’t get it (or others have applied for it…)

So, needless to say, I shared with friends ‘outside’ of school, but not that many w/in the department/field. I did get help from some awesome professors and friends who shared their job talks with me and a few others who watched me practice. I am forever indebted to you ladies!!! Thanks SO much!

This is the new union, The Baker Center

*Note… all of these pics are from the Facebook webpage for Ohio University.

6052_149745630952_143724205952_3554294_416460_n

6052_149749650952_143724205952_3554319_5812832_n

I flew out to Columbus, OH on Oct 21st. The entire trip was truly magical…maybe a better word is blessed! I arrived and had a very nice gentleman (car service) transport me to Athens. It took us a little over an hour to get there. The flight in and driving trip south was unreal. The fall colors were in full force. I can’t remember seeing such beauty during the fall season in a long time. Austin has many wonderful qualities, fall is not one of them! I actually felt badly for the guy next to me on the plane (and for the car transport person) as I couldn’t help but verbally express how beautiful I thought it was outside! I kept exclaiming ~ “Oh my gosh” and “Wow that’s just gorgeous” pretty much the entire trip to Athens!

Needless to say, I’m psyched we’ll be moving to a place that has seasons. [note to self here: remember this statement next winter when you are knee deep in snow, soot, and salt…]

6052_149751240952_143724205952_3554343_823768_n

I arrived in Athens and had a few minutes to freshen up before dinner time. The search committee chair (and the rest of the search committee) met me at the hotel & we headed off to a restaurant called “Stephens”~ how appropriate huh? The food was fantastic; I had pesto salmon. YUM! The search committee was incredibly welcoming and easy to talk to. I really enjoyed dinner and looked forward to the events day 2. When I got back to the hotel that night, I had the most amazing news on my voice mail. I FINALLY got approval to conduct research in the Texas Prison System!! All in God’s perfect timing. He saw fit that I got approval JUST in time to share that news during my job talk the next morning.

The job talk on Day 2 went amazingly well. I was able to have a nice breakfast with several of the faculty members and then headed off to the presentation. People asked questions at the end and they were tough, but fair and interesting. I really loved the collegiality that I was starting to obseve in the department. I spent most of the day meeting with faculty members in small groups (2-4 faculty & myself). Late afternoon the search committee chair took me to one of the community based prison facilities in Nelsonville. It was amazing. Seriously, I kind of slipped in to interviewer mode and just had a blast. I think Scott enjoyed the tour as well. I was able to meet a few of the ‘residents’ of the facility and see the cells and other classrooms etc. I ended the day with a fantastic meal with two wonderful faculty members.

Friday, Day 3, was my final day at OU. It was very laid back and relaxed. I had the most amazing gingerbread french toast (note to self, try to recreate the amazingness of that meal!) and then have a few more meetings with faculty, the dean, and the director. Lunch with one of the amazing ladies in the office and I was off!

View of campus from the air

6052_149745690952_143724205952_3554304_1517171_n

I was about 30-45 min out of the city … when the director called and told me that the faculty had met, and they were going to offer me the job!!! I was so excited that I could hardly contain myself 🙂  such an amazing blessing to know before I even reached the airport that the job offer was in the works.

Needless to say, the whole thing was made official on Monday Nov 2nd and Steve and I are going to be moving our lives to Ohio in a few short months. While it will be incredibly sad to leave the friends and family we’ve made in Austin, we’re very much looking forward new challenges, adventures, and experiences!

I guess all that’s left to say is “Go Bobcats!”

9116_179940960952_143724205952_4015672_5373828_n
Too much? 🙂

1 Comment

Filed under Musings, School

One response to “An Amazing Blessing

  1. Karen

    Thanks for the awesome account of your trip to OU and the pictures of the campus 🙂

Leave a Reply

