Christmas Memories

I’ve now been lying in bed since Sunday. It is FRIDAY. This means that I’ve had a lot of free time on my hands….I had really hoped to make it back to class today, but I can’t seem to put 3 sentences together with out several hacking coughs in the middle. My amazing friend Abby is going to teach for me today (and Dina covered my class on Wed). A big shout out to these ladies for keeping my class on track. I could not have done it with out y’all!

With all the free time,  I’ve been thinking a lot about my favorite holiday memories.

Here’s one of my favorites for you!

When we were little, my family always went to my dad’s side of the family for a (pre) christmas celebration. It was almost always the saturday and sunday 2 weeks before christmas. Those weekends were some of the best memories I have from my childhood. We only lived 30 min away from both sets of my grandparents, but usually only saw them on the holidays. That’s one of the reasons why these memories are so special 🙂

This particular Christmas we were sitting down to eat dinner out the “breeze way” which is what they liked to call the unheated 4-seasons type room on their home. They always had a space heater in there making it just warm enough 🙂 (although, you could always still see the steam pouring off of the food!) My cousins Dustin & Andy thought it would be a good idea to run their silverware through the candle flame for fun. They would “cut through” the flame with knifes, forks & spoons. Of course, brother Ben did not want to be left out of the fun! SO, he decided to through a napkin on TOP of the flame! BEN!!!!

Clearly it took 2.5 seconds to catch on fire and produce a tall flame. Everyone freaked out & backed away from the table. In my childhood mind, I thought it would be a great idea to get that flame off of the table, b/c who wants to burn the table down…. so I proceeded to throw the flaming napkin on floor.

[Yeah, smart move Brit. You could have thrown a glass of milk on it, but instead, you chose to burn the carpet! 🙂 ]

Luckily Dad rushed over & stomped it out… but there was forever a burn mark in the carpeting right next to the ‘kids’ table! I miss holidays when I was a kid; I miss being together with my whole family. The older you get, the more difficult it becomes to get everyone together on the holidays. Hopefully this year we’ll be able to catch up with a lot of cousins, aunts, uncles, and grandparents during our trip to WI.

Christmas 2003 with my brother! I miss this guy 🙂

Pre Christmas Celebration 2004 @ my parents old house. Left to right around the table… My mom’s parents & brother, Steve & I, my dad’s parents RIP

Christmas in Florida with Steve’s family Eric, Tia, Sarah & Sydney 2004…?

Christmas 2005 in our Apartment with Steve’s cousins Ken, Sher, and Steph (left to right)

1 Comment

Filed under Musings

One response to “Christmas Memories

  1. jen

    you should post your thanksgiving menu 🙂

Leave a Reply

