Thanksgiving Menu

Steve & I are hosting Thanksgiving tomorrow and I am STOKED! I really love cooking/baking for others~ and doing so on the holidays makes it even more special. This post is for you Jen πŸ™‚ Hope your sweet baby girl shows herself SOON!!!

Here’s whats on the slate for this year~

I’m making….

  • Turkey & gravy: this year we got a 20.5lb turkey, butterball. I always cook the turkey in a Nesco Roaster (which is pretty much an “oven” you put on your counter). It’s amazing. We stuff the turkey into a turkey bag & let it cook away for HOURS. We’ll cook it at the temp on the turkey for as long as it requires and then 3-4 more hrs on low … till it almost falls off of the bones! Mom taught me a great trick a few years back… To make the gravy, take a large tupperware or jar & put flour in it (as the thickening agent for the gravy). Add cold water to the mix & shake until well combine. THEN add that mixture to the hot turkey drippings to make the gravy. Doing it this way elimantes the possibility of having clumps of flour in the gravy πŸ™‚ Good call mom!
  • Cranberry sauce: I’m using my friend Lacy’s recipe. It is SO amazing… pretty much cranberries, orange pieces/zest, sugar, water, cinnamon, & pecans. SO good!!!Β  My mom always says that cranberry sauce reminds her of her grandmother… so now it reminds me as well πŸ™‚ Steve doesn’t eat this, but I always still make it.
  • Stuffing/dressing: When we lived in WI, we always made basic bread dressing (which was good). When we move to Texas, we had the opportunity to try cornbread stuffing… OH MY. It is so amazing… and we’ve never looked back. From now until forever~ we’re cornbread stuffin’ folks. I’m planning to bake the corn bread today to make tomorrow’s task a bit less daunting.
  • Broccoli corn bake: This is one of the classics in my family. It’s my grandma Rugotska’s recipe. Very basic, but delicious! It’s one of those recipes that we’ve had at every holiday since I can remember. Just making it makes me think about all the good holidays we shared as kids.
  • Pecan pie: This is also grandma Rugotska’s recipe. YUMMO! This one always reminds me of my dad b/c he is just a big pecan pie fan. Love it. Crust will be from scratch as well… wish me luck!
  • Appetizers for the PACKER game: marble cheese, summer sausage & crackers, french onion dip & pretzels, and cheesy sausage biscuit balls.
  • Dinner rolls: I have to admit, I just bought some Hawaiian sweet rolls… but I think I might also make these. They look just FANTASTICALLY yummy.
  • Bavarian Peach Salad: Jello salads always remind me of my grandparents & this recipe is no exception… once again, this isΒ  grandma Rugotska’s recipe. She actually gave me this one for my bridal shower. We did one of those fun games where you mail the recipe cards out with the invitations to the shower and then they guest bring them back filled in πŸ™‚ This was the recipe grandma chose to include. It’s pretty much a blend of peach jello, peaches, and cool whip which turns into this amazing orange fluffiness when mixed & chilled. YUM! It’s suppose to be made in a jello mold… but I can’t quite bring myself to do a jello mold. So I usually just sick it in a pretty glass bowl. It has the same effect in my personal opinion.

Other people are bringing:

  • Pumpkin pie
  • Apple pie
  • Mashed potatoes
  • Sweet potato casserole
  • Salad

This year we’re skipping:

  • Squash…. I tried to find some acorn squash at the store to no avail. I’m not a huge butternut squash fan… and spaghetti squash isn’t very “thanksgivingish” so I figured I’d pass this year.
  • Green bean casserole… I figured we had enough veggies with the broccoli corn bake, the sweet potatoes, and the salad.

That’s what’s on the slate for this year. We’re really looking forward to celebrating the day with friends tomorrow….and most especially…. we’re looking forward to giving Thanks to the One who made us & saved us.

1 Comment

Filed under Food/Diet

One response to “Thanksgiving Menu

  1. Karen

    OMG, I forgot to buy a turkey bag. I hope I have one in a box I haven’t unpacked yet. I’ll have to get busy looking for it. Remember to cook your turkey upside down (actually right side up as a turkey would stand; wings up, legs down).
    Your menu sounds great!

Leave a Reply

