~Sour Cream Spice Cake~ WITH Pecan Cream Cheese Filling & Brown Butter-Cream Frosting

Whew. How’s that for a name? This is definitely the most time intensive recipe I’ve ever typed up~ so I hope it’s detailed enough for y’all. This past weekend, I was invited to a pot luck to visit with a good friend from Norway 🙂 (where we spent the majority of last summer). I knew I wanted to make something special~ so I pulled this recipe out of the box & jazzed it up a bit.

I’m pretty sure this took the better part of an afternoon ~ on & off~ to make… with the cooling, dish washing, chilling etc. But let me tell ya~ WELL worth the effort.

The cake was a hit & I’ll definitely make it again. Currently, it’s helping me drown my sorrows from the awful football weekend I’ve had. Both of my teams, UT & The Pack,  lost in one week 😦 Tear. But cake always seems to make everything better.

Sour Cream Spice Cake
Adapted from Betty Crocker Bridal Edition
•    2 ¼ c. flour
•    1 ½ c. packed brown sugar
•    2 large eggs
•    1 c. sour cream (I used low fat)
•    ¼ c. butter
•    ¼ c. shortening
•    ½ c. water
•    2 heaping tsp cinnamon (next time I think I’ll add three)
•    1 ¼ tsp baking soda
•    1 tsp baking powder
•    ½ tsp salt
•    ¾ tsp ground cloves
•    ½ tsp ground nutmeg
Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Line 2 round pans (8 or 9 in) with parchment paper on the bottom. Then grease the parchment & sides of the pan. Dust pan with flour.

In a large bowl, beat the sugar, butter, & shortening. Add the rest of the ingredients and beat at low speed for 30 sec. Then beat on high for 3 minutes. Scrap occasionally. Pour into pans.

Bake for 30-35 minutes until the cake springs back to the touch & tooth pick inserted into the center comes out clean.
Invert the cakes onto cooling racks, pull off the parchment paper, and cool completely, approx 1 hour.

Pecan Cream Cheese Filling
•    ½ package  (4oz) cream cheese (I use low fat), room temperature
•    2 tsp vanilla extract
•    3 c. (approx) of powdered sugar
•    1-3 Tbsp milk
•    ½ c. chopped pecans (I use a food processor)
Beat cream cheese and vanilla for 1 minute till creamy. Then add in the powdered sugar (cup by cup) & milk till desired consistency is reached. Mixture should be fairly thick. Add in pecans last.  You want this mixture to be a little less sweet than if you were using it for frosting. Shoot for a tangy semi sweet flavor. The brown-buttercream frosting is really sweet, so this balances it out ☺

Brown Butter Cream Frosting
Adapted from Betty Crocker Bridal Edition
http://www.thekitchn.com/thekitchn/tips-techniques/basic-techniques-how-to-brown-butter-077018
http://www.chow.com/stories/10060

•    ½ c. (1 stick) unsalted butter, straight out of fridge
•    2 tsp vanilla extract
•    1 lb powdered sugar
•    1-3 Tbsp milk

In a light colored saucepan, melt the butter over medium heat. You’ll need to tend to this as it melts. Do not walk away b/c it can burn in an instant. I stood over it the whole time, whisking the mixture as it melted. Keep whisking as the butter starts to foam. The color will start to look yellowish and then tan. When it turns a light brown color~ remove from heat.
There will be some blackish colored sediment that falls to the bottom of the pan. Don’t freak out, this is normal (I thought I burned it!). The butter is done when you smell the nutty, toasty aroma. See the websites listed above for photos. I chose to leave the specks in, but some choose to strain them out.

The mixture will continue to cook in the pan for a minute or so unless you shock the bottom of the pan with color water, OR pour the brown butter into another dish (which is what I did). I poured the cooked mixture straight into my kitchen aid mixing bowl. Then I put the bowl in the fridge & pulled it out to stir every few minutes till the butter was at a “softened” stage. It only takes maybe 5 minutes (ish… give or take a few). From there, you combine the rest of the frosting ingredients and beat till the frosting is light & fluffy!


To Assemble The Cake
Lay one cake on a plate/cake plate. Spread on pecan cream cheese filling. Top with the other cake. Frost cake with the brown butter cream frosting from the top down around the sides.

****I used some of the extra pecan cream cheese filling to decorate the top of the cake & then dusted with white chocolate shavings. It was kind of a sloppy job, but tasted yummy! I’ll do better next time! I chilled the cake & then removed it 20 min before serving. Be sure to refrigerate the leftovers (b/c of cream cheese).

Whew. Sit down, have a piece & relax. Then nap & have your husband/wife/significant other clean up the mess!

4 Comments

Filed under Dessert, Recipes

4 responses to “~Sour Cream Spice Cake~ WITH Pecan Cream Cheese Filling & Brown Butter-Cream Frosting

  1. Karen

    Looks DELICIOUS!

  2. Morgan

    Mmmmmm this is just the recipe I have been craving 🙂

Leave a Reply

