Dissertation & Brownies

I am not sure how I feel right now… probably b/c there are so many emotions swimming around in my head. So many fearful thoughts.

  • Fear: that I won’t finish the dissertation in time
  • Stress: for the amount of work I have to complete in the next few months
  • Exhaustion: from lack of sleep
  • Physical highs & lows from too much coffee & too little exercise
  • Worry: about EVERY THING… but most specifically, that I won’t meet the expectations that others have for my dissertation work
  • Self-doubt: I often feel  like I don’t even know what the heck I’m doing.
  • Lastly, I’m all hopped up on frosting from these yummy brownies that I took time out to make. I think I ate WAY too much batter & frosting before combining the two together. Sugar headache = yuck.

That’s probably enough emotion for y’all for one night! So here’s  a brownie recipe since you hung with me through all of that. I ALWAYS get complements on these. 🙂 Crazy huh? The recipe right off the back of the Nestle Cocoa box just happens to have the yummiest brownie recipe… go figure 🙂

You all know what a brownie looks like, so sorry… no pics this time!

Nestle Chewy Cocoa Brownies
•    1 & 2/3 c. sugar
•    ¾ c. (or 1 & ½ sticks) butter melted
•    2 Tbsp water
•    2 large eggs
•    2 tsp vanilla extract
•    1 & 1/3 c. all purpose flour
•    ¾ c. nestle tollhouse baking cocoa
•    ½ tsp baking powder
•    ¼ tsp salt

Preheat the oven to 350. Grease a 9×13 pan.
Combine sugar, butter, and water in a large bowl. Stir in eggs and vanilla. Combine flour, cocoa, baking powder & salt in a medium bowl. Stir into sugar mixture. Spread into baking pan.
Bake for 18-25 min or until wooden toothpick inserted in center comes out slightly sticky. Cool (and frost if desired).
Makes 2 doz brownies.

Make some homemade frosting out of cocoa powder, powdered sugar, butter, vanilla, and milk. Sorry I don’t have the measurements~ I just play this by ear…. FROSTING! YUMMMO

back to work…. bleh…..bleh…. bleh

1 Comment

Filed under Dessert, Recipes, School

One response to “Dissertation & Brownies

  1. Karen

    Ok, ok, ok . . .put the brownie down, back away from the brownie, go put on your running shoes, get out for some exercise and fresh air. When you get home avoid the coffee and have some ice water. By now your stress should be leaving you. Sit down and make a list of your plan of attack on what needs to be done. Prioritize your list. Then take it one step at a time. This is your mother talking ~ do as I say, not as I do. Now I think I’ll go and make some of those yummy brownies. j/k LOL 😛

Leave a Reply

