The Decade in Review

Note. I’ve been trying to write this blog post for awhile now…I keep meaning to come back to it and add pictures/extra explanations etc… but I can’t seem to find the time! So before Feb hits, I figured I should post it šŸ˜‰ Disclaimer… it’s possible that I put photos in the wrong “year” below… sorry. Memory is shot!

——–

So it’s take a few weeks ~ But here’s the review of the last ten years. They were full of the greatest challenges and the most amazing blessings I’ve ever experienced. So here we go!

2000: Finished first year of college @ Ripon College. It was a year full of ups and downs… but mostly downs. I learned much during this year and came to a much better understanding of what life is like far from God. Looking back, if I hadn’t lived through this year, I would have NEVER transferred to UWM & met my sweetie!

Ecc 7:14 When times are good, be happy; but when times are bad, consider: God has made the one as well as the other. Therefore, a man cannot discover anything about his future.

2001: Spent my first full year at UWM. It was a rough start~ lonely, no friends, no money… there were many sleepless tear-filled nights. Oh! And I had my identity stolen. THAT was not fun. I was still running in the opposite direction of the calling on my life. Most of my time was filled with “living life too fully,” waitressing @ Turners, and homework!

However….Life started to turn around in August of this year…. I met Steve in Aug of 2001. I was his group leader @ freshman orientation! (I was a junior @ this point). Great start to a wonderful life together šŸ™‚

Gen 15:20 You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives.

2002: In January of this year, Steve and I took our first trip (ROAD TRIP) together to Breckenridge Colorado. We had a very interesting trip to & from WI….needless to say, the folks we were riding with were by Moby fans~ and we had our fillof his music!

Note my super cool matching outfit… yeah, pants were borrowed from a sweet roommate~ but let’s face it, I look like an idiot. Can you tell I didn’t know how to ski? I’ve since improved a bit šŸ˜‰

We also traveled to CA to visit Steve’s buddy Ben in march of this year… I think (or it MIGHT have been 2003…) Wow. Dates escape me!

2003: Graduated from UW-Milwaukee~ Whoo Hoo! and on a whim, decided to stay on and get a masters degree in the dept of Communication Studies. Mostly, I didn’t want to have to leave Milwaukee because my super awesome boyfriend was still in school at UWM šŸ™‚

2004: balanced graduate school & working at State Farm Insurance as a sales rep~ it was one crazy busy year! Vacationed in Florida with Steve’s family.

2005: Finished my masters degree in May of this year. Moved to Madison & got a job as an insurance trainer working at Rural Mutual Insurance. I learned many things about ‘working in the real world’ during this year!


2006: Best year ever. Hands down. April: Engaged August: Married the one I love AND moved to Austin, Honeymooned in Hawaii, and Started the PhD program at UT. Quite the CRAZY year! Steve started working as a management trainee for Sherwin Williams. We spent our first Holiday together (thanksgiving) all by ourselves!

Engagement picture by Maureen Hartjes

Wedding pic also by Maureen Hartjes

Hawaiian graffiti

The night before we left Hawaii to go back to our new home in Texas šŸ™‚

Colossians 3:12-17Ā  Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. 13Bear with each other and forgive whatever grievances you may have against one another. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. 14And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity. 15Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful. 16Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom, and as you sing psalms, hymns and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God. 17And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

Started attending the Austin Stone Community Church

2007: In 2007, we continued to attend the Stone ~ and got “plugged in.” We took the newly nearly wed class & it changed the way we looked at, thought about, and lived our married lives. We met some amazing friends ~ who have become our family over the last several years. We are richly blessed to be a part of the community we have at the Stone.

ice storm hits austin

awesome friends from church

First Anniversary!

Nov 2007 in San Diego with my awesome friends at UT

In the old stadium at Dallas… watched the Packers loose… Favre play one of his last games as a Packer!

Awesome friends from the Stone

My sweet friend Lacy from the PhD program married her sweetie Doug in Dec

2008: I went to Montreal for a conference (ICA) ~ was home for a week & then Steve & I traveled to London for a vacation to visit my aunt & uncle. It was an amazing trip & a huge blessing to have family host us in such a lovely country! Stonehenge was definitely my favorite… so serene.

Pretty pic of Montreal… couldn’t tell you what this was. I know, I’m lame

London

UT football game

In December we decided to take a Steve & Brit vaca ~the first vacation BY OURSELVES in years…. to Breckenridge, CO~ the place we had vacationed together all those years ago. It was amazingly refreshing ~ a blessed time of rest & relaxation!

During this year we also became part of a discipleship group and the Lord continued to work in our lives & marriage. It was a year of refining.

Ephesians 5:8-10 For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Live as children of light (for the fruit of the light consists in all goodness, righteousness and truth) and find out what pleases the Lord.

2009: Began my final year in the phd program here in ATX… crazy that it will all be over soon. In April went to Phoenix for a conference~ and Steve came along! It was go great to have him with me there! We got to spend time with his awesome cousin & his fam. They are always such a blessing to our lives.

Steve & I spent the summer in NORWAY. One of the best experiences ever. But you’ve all already read about that experience here! On the school front… wrote & defended my comps, wrote & defended my prospectus, conducted interviews in Norway & US prisons. šŸ™‚ Other travels included WI, Chicago, and West Virgina. During the fun & the craziness ~ through the stress, we held fast to this truth:

Psalms 100:5 For the Lord is good and his love endures forever; his faithfulness continues through all generations.

At ASU basketball game in Phoenix

Chicago May 09

Norway

So that’s all I’ve got for now…I know I’ve missed things… but I hope you’ve enjoyed this semi scattered snapshot into our lives!

4 Comments

Filed under Musings

4 responses to “The Decade in Review

  1. Karen

    What a difference a decade makes, huh? I enjoyed the tour through the last 10 years in words and pictures.

  2. Jan

    What a great review Brit! You guy’s are fantastic!!

    Jan

Leave a Reply

