Embracing or Running from Change

Change is imminent. It will always catch you… and in my opinion~ you can either embrace it or run from it. I am more of an “embrace it” kind of girl. Steve is a bit more resistant 🙂 You could say I’m the gas & he’s the breaks. It’s awesome that we balance each other out in that way.

I remember when we moved to Austin. I was so gun ho about getting here~ but Steve was the realist. Time passed, we embraced our new lives, and we grew to absolutely love Austin and our life here. Now change is chasing us again…

We feel like God is calling us to Athens, OH and our time in ATX is drawing to a close.  This knowledge, however, doesn’t get rid of the anxiety that comes along with change. Between now & June there are so many decisions we need to make. Big, life changing decisions (e.g., we’re going to be homeowners!) It’s such a process of trying to figure it all out.

Steve & I generally like to make all sorts of life changes at one time. For example … from April-Nov 2006 we:

  • Decided we were moving to TX
  • Got engaged
  • Quit our jobs
  • Moved to TX
  • Got married
  • Went on honeymoon
  • I started the phd program
  • Steve started a new job

WHEW! So I guess… we’re used to change right? Atleast that’s what I have to keep telling myself so that my crazy control brain will not spin out of control while it attempts to process all of the ambiguity!

Time to get back to working on the one thing that is very CLEAR in life right now…. the impending deadline of the dissertation!

2 Comments

Filed under Austin, Musings

2 responses to “Embracing or Running from Change

  1. Karen

    Just remember, it’s always ok to just take a little time to relax and unwind a bit.

  2. Lauren

    I know exactly how you feel 🙂 I have moved a lot for school, and the best thing I can say is that in each place I went, I always got more than I expected- in a good way! Try not to look at it as a change. . . it’s really just the next step, a continuation of the adventure! 🙂

Leave a Reply

