Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles

My sweet friend Morgan posted this recipe a LONG time ago 🙂 and then Annie’s Eats reminded me of how much I really wanted to make them!

Let’s just say they did not disappoint!

Ingredients (see the websites above for original sources)

8 tbsp. unsalted butter, at room temperature
¾ cup light brown sugar, packed
2¼ cup all-purpose flour
1 (14 oz.) can sweetened condensed milk (be sure to shake it!)
2 tsp. vanilla extract
1 c. semisweet chocolate chips (for the “batter”)
1½ lb. semisweet chocolate (for dipping)

In a kitchen aid mixer ~ cream the butter & sugar (2 minutes). Add in the sweetened condensed milk & vanilla extract. Gradually beat in the flour. Mix in 1 c. chocolate chips.

Chill Mixture for approx 30 minutes (or until you’re able to handle it & roll into balls). I think I stuck mine in the freezer for 15 minutes b/c I was impatient!

Form the dough into balls & place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment or wax paper. Chill for at least an hour (in the freezer). 🙂

Now it’s time to DIP! Melt your chocolate & dip away. Annie’s eats has a great explanation of how to do it & make them look BEAUTIFUL! I was lazy. I just microwaved the chocolate & dipped away. Though, I will warn you ~ this method results in much thicker chocolate (which then leads to WAY more chocolate on each truffle!) For better (in my opinion) or worse (in my husband’s opinion). We ended up dipping about 1/2 the truffles entirely in chocolate & half of the truffles only partially in chocolate.

IF you’re going to put these on a platter & let them sit out for a party, I’d dip them the whole way… otherwise the cookie dough gets a bit soft. That said, these are best served straight out of the fridge!

ps. resist the urge to taste the dough before it’s been chilled. It’s not as good & might be a bit disappointing. If you can just be patient & wait for a short time, I promise, it will taste EXACTLY like the real thing!

pps. WARNING. DO NOT MAKE THESE UNLESS YOU CAN GIVE SOME AWAY/SHARE IMMEDIATELY. Seriously guys… I’m pretty sure I ate 3/4 of this recipe on my own… in like hmm 5 days? something like that… 🙂 Just too darn good!

1 Comment

Filed under Dessert

One response to “Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles

  1. Karen

    I just started a weight loss program that doesn’t allow sugar or white flour. I’ll just enjoy your lovely pictures 🙂

Leave a Reply

