Fresh Herbs! Dill & Chive Sauce

Ever since watching Food Inc. Steve & I have been trying to change our food habits. Part of that change was a switch to eating organic chicken. Let me tell ya folks~ organic chicken is EXPENSIVE!!! I used to buy a HUGE package of chicken at Sams Club for around $15. Now I buy two chicken breasts for $8-$10 YIKES! But the TASTE is SO much better~ which I keep telling myself…makes it worth it! However, we are eating a bit less meat these days than normal. This dish is an example of a typical meat meal in our household: green beans (frozen), chicken breast, and parmesan couscous.

I wanted to snaz this chicken up just a bit~ and so I dug around in the fridge to see what was available! I had some fresh dill & chives that had been sitting for a few days, so I decided it was time to break them out! This sauce is SUPER simple~ but Steve just raved about it 🙂 Five ingredients!

Dill & Chive Sauce

  • 1/4 c. low fat Mayo made with olive oil
  • 1-2 Tbsp grey poupon mustard
  • 3 sprigs of fresh dill, minced
  • Chives minced, 1 quarter size circumference of chives
  • Pepper to taste

We just put a dollop on each chicken breast & viola! Instant flavor!

This dip is FANTASTIC as leftovers as well. Day two, I blended up the remaining chicken breast with the left over sauce & make a very flavorful chicken salad. I think I almost liked the chicken salad better than the chicken dinner!

Hope you enjoy this fresh dip as much as we did!

Leave a comment

Filed under Sauces

Leave a Reply

