Adventures in Creativity

My Mac has super glue on the “mousepad” and our new desk has a spot where the varnish is missing.

Why you may ask? Because I thought it would be a GREAT idea to make a cross out of two fans to go on our wall. Yep, I’ve lost my mind.

Let me back up a few steps… So Steve and I got some really cool crosses in Texas. One from our sweet friend Frannie that looks like this.  Another we got from San Antonio when my folks came to visit that looks similar to this. The other cross we have is a very special one from my friend Lacy. She sent it to me while I was doing my comps (along with a lot of other survival goodies like chocolate and coffee!). Sorry, no picture of this one…I’m too lazy to take my own pics right now 🙂 Anyway, we have some friends who have a cross wall in their house and we really wanted to copy steal their idea.

And thus begins the adventure in creativity. Steve and I have been spending too much $$ on fixing up the house as of late, so I decided to try to save some pennies and make a few more crosses to go on our wall. I wanted to have at least 5 to be balanced. So I found these two fans that I NEVER ever use and thought it would be cool to super glue them together. Essentially I wrapped a ribbon around the two fans to form a cross and then super glued the ribbon on the back of one of the fans…

While I was trying to finish super gluing the fans, my mom called and told me to look at something on the computer. Result: super glue on mouse pad.

Panic ensued. Mom said use nail polish remover. I did… it didn’t work. I set the paper towel with nail polish remover on NEW wood desk to ‘get it out of the way’ while I attempted to scrap furiously away at the mouse pad with my finger nails. Result: nail polish remover successfully removed a quarter size area of varnish from the new desk. AHHHHHHHHH

By the end of the night I was just fried from stress. Needless to say both my Mac & our desk are scarred for life. But thankfully..they both are still functional. I think that God is trying to teach me how to let things roll off my back when the time comes for us to have kids. Kids = total loss of control… at least that’s what some of my friends tell me 🙂 I consider my training complete. At least for this week.

4 Comments

Filed under Musings

4 responses to “Adventures in Creativity

  1. Mom

    You must take after your grandfather. He loves to super glue things. When we first moved in with them, he got super glue on the brand new counter and on the floor. Since then he has gotten super glue on his pants and glued his fingers together. We have now had to hide the super glue. See it’s not just kids ~ we have super glue disasters with my 87 year-old dad!!!

  2. jen

    did your fan/cross turn out okay at least?

    and-yes total loss of control-at least in the beginning, i think we are slowly gaining some control back 🙂

Leave a Reply

