Office B&A

Home improvement update #3: The office!!

Again, sorry for the quality of these shots…. but you get the idea. Like the rest of the house, the room was PINK. Bubble gum pink. Go figure right? Oh, and note the lovely blue & pink plaid curtains.

The room did have the pretty wood floors though! At least they didn’t carpet over this floor like they did in the other two rooms πŸ™‚

Yep. Not really my cup of tea. I don’t think I would be able to focus/work in this room… SO, we decided to paint. I was really set on painting it yellow. Luckily, I have an awesome husband who said “okay” to the whole crazy idea.

He wanted to go with the very soft, almost tan colored yellow… I on the other hand… was looking for somthing more like THIS….

So cheery& fun!! AND it looked great up against the freshly painted white base boards.

And… after being painted, this room became our “storage room” for a solid week. Boxes & boxes & boxes oh my! I was so glad when we finally bought some book shelves to put a lot of this stuff in πŸ™‚

And here’s what it looks like now:

This is the closet. We decided to keep the doors off of the closet & make the space feel bigger. It is also much more functional for an office space. The boxes on the top shelf were from Walmart πŸ™‚ The filing cabinets are full of paper articles… crazy what 4 years of a phd program can do you to!

I spent a lot of time “staging” the book shelves. Notice the lovely HP books in the top corner πŸ™‚ I need to get 1-3 in hard cover to complete the set. πŸ™‚

Book shelf number 2. These were both from Walmart. We put them together all by ourselves πŸ™‚ Whew!! Let’s just say the second one went up a heck of a lot quicker than shelf number 1!!!

I just love this wall!!!Β  Functional & beautiful.

Wall with Norway pics. I don’t love that end table.. but it’s hiding some cords. Ideally, there will eventually be a small squishy chair in front of the lamp in the corner & then a plant in front of the cords (instead of the table). Oh, and I am in LOVE with the beautiful wood desk. It’s a wood top & metal frame. Like classic meets modern.

Diplomas (minus the texas one) πŸ™‚ This picture shows the actual color of the room better than the others. It’s a rich yellow.

The shelf & the chair came as a set with the desk. We bought from a local furniture store and were so pleased with the results!

The curtains are more teal than they appear in this pictures… (and theΒ  “shower rod” is a temporary curtain bar it will eventually be replaced). I love how the teal in the rug matches the teal in the blanket (a gift from my folks for an anniversary) matches the teal in the curtains. Fun accent color. This room just makes me want to get to blogging… er I mean work. It makes me want to go to work! πŸ™‚

So that’s pretty much it! I hope you like it as much as we do πŸ™‚

1 Comment

Filed under Home "Renovation"

One response to “Office B&A

  1. Mom

    Wonderful pictures! You did a great job!!! I was wondering if you painted the office yellow, subconsciously remembering your bedroom when you were a little girl πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

