Faith is…

I miss our church in Austin.

One of the most difficult things about moving is finding a new church. As our search continues, I often listen to the sermons from our Austin church online. The week of July 4th Matt preached on Faith. It was an awesome sermon. You should listen to it. Link to the sermon

Here’s the overview:

Matthew 8:5-13The story of the Roman Centurion

Faith is:

v. 7-8 “just say the word…” that is what it looks like for us to have mind blowing faith.

BELIEVING. Roman soldier was absolutely certain that whatever Jesus said was going to happen.

When God says something, we Trust Him.

Why can we have this kind of faith in God?

v. 9 is the reason … Roman soldier says that he is a man with a authority and his soldiers follow him. He understands the concept of authority.

The reason we can believe God when he speaks is because of His AUTHORITY.

What happens when you demonstrate faith?

v. 13 It gives us access to the supernatural power and working of God in our life.

There is a direct connection between the work of God in your life and your believe in His power to do it.

Caveat… you can not have faith in something that God has not said…. (e.g., I just have faith that God is going to bring me a spouse, a baby, a cure, etc.). He hasn’t said things like that in the Bible. But he does say things like “I will never leave you nor forsake you”

Faith is not a laso that you can put around God’s neck. But rather…Faith is when He has spoke, that you trust.

Application:

This kind of faith is central to your salvation. Eph 2:4-9 For by Grace you have been saved through faith.

When describing salvation… people say one of two (incorrect) things

1) “I invited Jesus into my heart” ~ you are not saved by asking to Jesus into your heart…

2) “I accepted Christ as my Lord & Savior” ~ it paints this wrongful picture of Jesus on His knees asking you to accept him…

rather, you trust your life into Him

I loved it. Just what I needed today… to be reminded of what true faith in Christ looks like. And to be reminded how I must strive daily toward that type of faith.

In my quiet time today, I read this verse:

Romans 15:13 May the God of HOPE fill you with all JOY and PEACE as you TRUST in HIM, so that you may overflow with HOPE by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Hope, Joy, Peace, Trust… I’m focusing on those things today 🙂 because of HIM and in spite of me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Austin Stone

Leave a Reply

