Tex Mex meets Athens

On the slate.. I mean plate for this post:

  • Flour tortillas
  • Fajitas
  • Salsa

It’s been a week of Tex Mex in our household.  Steve’s birthday was this past Tues and he requested enchiladas~ I was able to find our regular enchilada sauce which was great. The tortillas, on the other hand, were another story.

Don’t get me wrong, Kroger has a wide variety of flour (and a few corn) tortillas (as well as various different kinds of salsa) but let’s face it: Athens Ohio is not Austin Texas! The enchiladas survived, but I decided that it was time to try to make some homemade flour tortillas to alleviate this issue.

I did a quick google search and came across the best blog! It is appropriately named “Homesick Texan” . I LOVE it!!! My favorite part was the commentary… the blogger gave a disclaimer that these tortillas were TEX Mex tortillas (not ‘authentic mexican’ tortillas). That’s when I knew these were going to be right up our alley. They were super soft & fluffy…kind of like those you can find at Hula Hut. YUM!! Let’s just say that did not disappoint. Best part? Not only were these amazing, but you only need 5 ingredients to make them! I made a double batch (16 total) and didn’t have any problems with them.

Except…

The smoke. See, I thought it would be a good idea to cook these babies up right as guests arrived. Not so smart. I still had a bit of flour on each tortilla from when they’d been rolled out and the flour decided to smoke in the dry hot pan. No harm done to the tortillas 🙂 but the guests were a little smokey after the occasion! They were totally worth the effort (and they kept well overnight). I’d show you a picture… but we ate them all up before I had a chance to snap a shot!

We paired these soft amazing wondrous tortillas with some fantastic chicken & steak fajitas. Annie’s Eats had the perfect recipe, as always!

Our neighbors generously gave us some leftover steak from the previous evening ~ so I just tossed it in the marinade and warmed it through.

The chicken I diced and marinated for a bit longer than the recipe suggested (30 min?).  Then I just dumped the chicken and the marinade into a non stick pan and almost poached the chicken in the marinade juices. Steve actually took care of the chicken cooking part 🙂 I think he cooked it over medium heat for about 10 min and then turned it down to simmer until serving.

I sauteed a sliced red pepper, 2 green peppers, and a vdalia onion for the fajita veggies. Before serving, I tossed with the reserved marinade as Annie’s Eats suggested.

Finally, we served the fajitas with some sour cream & fresh salsa.

I usually make my salsa with a ton of cilantro… and some times throw in black beans and corn. Very not purist 🙂 So this time I decided to go a bit simpler.

Fresh Salsa:

  • 2 jalapenos
  • 3 cloves of garlic, peeled
  • Juice of one lime
  • 1 med vdalia onion
  • 5 large tomatoes (I used 2 vine-ripped & 3 “4th of July” tomatoes from our neighbor’s garden), rough chopped
  • 2 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 1-2 tsp salt (to taste)

Wearing gloves, de-seed the jalapenos. Toss them into the food processor with the garlic cloves,  lime juice, and 2 of the tomatoes. Process until the pieces really tiny and everything is fully combined! Then add the rough chopped onion, tomatoes and seasonings to the food processor. Pulse to desired consistency. Taste & adjust seasonings if necessary. I had to add a bit more salt & sugar the first time around 🙂 Chill & serve.

Whew! So that completes our homemade Tex Mex adventure in Athens. I’m really pretty excited that we can make our favorite Austin (and Texas) dishes here in Southeastern Ohio!!

3 Comments

Filed under Tex-Mex

3 responses to “Tex Mex meets Athens

  1. Pingback: Tex Mex Chicken Soup & Tortillas « Steve and Brit's Blog

  2. Sara Wilson

    you should try Homesick’s beef jerky sometime. It’s wonderful. I have tried a couple more of her recipes before, but I can’t remember which ones off the top of my head. Your blog introduced me to Annie’s Eats–and I can’t think you enough. I love perusing cooking blogs when it’s slow here at the office.

    • Steve & Brit

      Thanks Sara!! I will definitely look at that one 🙂 I’m am pretty much in ❤ with Annie's Eats 🙂 She's my fav for great recipes!! Hope y'all are well 🙂

Leave a Reply

