Tex Mex Chicken Soup & Tortillas

Ah Yum. Yeah, this soup is really really good~ AND here’s the kicker~ EASY! It’s a crock pot dinner 🙂

I had a few left over chicken breasts in the fridge from dinner the other night so I started digging through my favorite cookbooks looking for something to make. I flipped open “Fix it & forget it lightly” which is a great cookbook full of low fat/cal crock pot dishes.

Mom kept telling me that she loved the tortilla soup recipe so I decided to give it a whirl…with a few modifications that is. The original recipe was called “Chicken Tortilla Soup” by Becky Harder.

Here are my modifications & additions:

  • 2 uncooked, boneless skinless chicken breasts (she called for 4, but I TOTALLY think 2 was sufficient)
  • 2- 15oz cans of black beans with juices (we got low sodium, organic)
  • 1 large poblano pepper, minced
  • 1 small red pepper (I think the one I bought from the farmers market had a bit of heat to it!)
  • 3 large vine ripened tomatoes, diced (from our neighbors’ garden :)) or 2 cans of Rotel
  • 1 large jar of salsa (I used a homemade 16oz jar)
  • 4oz can green chilies
  • 16oz jar of spaghetti sauce (or tomato sauce, but I found that the homemade spaghetti sauce w/basil made it much more complex of a dish!)

Combine all ingredients in a slow cooker & cook on low for 4 hours. Remove the chicken & shred. Put chicken back in the dish and cook on low for another 2 hours or so. You could just shred the chicken just prior to serving, but it seemed to get more tender as the soup penetrated each bite 🙂

We served it with some yummy homemade tortillas. Same recipe as last time!! Same great taste, far less smoke.

Steve went back for seconds. Random side note… I talked to my mom after I assembled the dish and it turns out I actually made the WRONG dish… I mean, I started from the wrong recipe 🙂 not the one mom usually makes! Too funny huh?

Also, felt like I needed to change the name b/c in my book, Tortilla soup MUST have corn in it 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Soups, Tex-Mex

2 responses to “Tex Mex Chicken Soup & Tortillas

  1. Mom

    “Your” recipe looks really good!

  2. beverungatx

    I have a Chicken Tortilla Soup recipe for the crockpot, too! I love it! I can send it to you if you want to try it!

Leave a Reply

