“Cream” of Veggie Soup

With thanksgiving fast approaching, I was attempting to clean out my fridge.

I had quite a few veggies that I needed to ‘use up’ before the big day. It’s been cool around Ohio ~ so I decided that a nice big pot of soup was in order šŸ™‚ This recipe was easy peasy!! Steve & I BOTH loved it. We’ve had leftovers for the last several days and we’re not sick of it yet. That’s definitely the mark of a good meal. I named the recipe “cream” of veggie soup.. though it doesn’t have ANY actual cream in it. It reminds me of a soup that I used to serve at a restaurant I worked at called Golden Basket in Appleton. Their soup was much chunkier ~ but I love the thick creaminess that this soup offers. I hope you like it as much as we did!

Ingredients:

  • 1 head broccoli, rinsed & roughly chopped
  • 1 head cauliflower, rinsed & roughly chopped
  • 1 bag small carrots, chopped into bite size pieces
  • 4 quarts of chicken stock
  • 1/2 c. uncooked, traditional (not instant) brown rice
  • 1 Tbsp dill weed
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1-2 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 package (8oz) low fat cream cheese
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning blend (basil, oregano, sage)
  • Sea salt to taste (I added this into my own soup bowl right before serving)

In a large stock pot, combine all of the above ingredients (except salt, italian seasoning & cream cheese). Add extra water (1-4 c.) to cover the veggies if needed. I filled the stock pot almost to the top with chicken stock & water.

Bring water/stock to a boil. Turn down to simmer & cook, covered, for approx 2 hours.

At this point, the broccoli & cauliflower will mostly have broken down into the soup…Blend soup with an immersion blender. Stir the cream cheese & Italian seasoning into the soup. Taste, season again as needed.

Ladle soup into bowls and top with a dash of sea salt.

When reheating, you’ll need to add milk to thin out the soup as it thickens in the fridge.

This would be great in a bread bowl šŸ™‚ It’s a super hearty (and HEALTHY!) soup for winter.

Enjoy šŸ™‚

Leave a comment

Filed under Soups

Leave a Reply

