Simple Baked Chicken

I’m not usually the kind of girl who just buys a whole chicken.
Nor do I buy BONE IN chicken breasts…or chicken legs!

But this week, the lack of boneless, skinless chicken breasts at the store provoked me to move out of my comfort zone and into the world of bone-in chicken!

I’m so glad it did πŸ™‚

The whole chicken I baked this past weekend was serious the *BEST* “rotisseri” chicken I’ve ever had. Steve agreed. It was so tender & yummy. The skin (which of course I didn’t eat.. ehm, ehm….) was crunch & flavorful.

Thanks Pioneer Woman for posting another great recipe!!

In short, you combine fresh (I used dried) rosemary, oregano, & sage (you NEED the sage!) with some olive oil & rub it all over your bird. Be sure to dry the little guy off before you start smearing. Then you stuff it with onions, garlic & lemon. Ah, could it get any better? I baked mine at 450 for an hour & fifteen minutes just the recipe said and it was PERFECT! we had plenty of leftovers for chicken sandwiches (or whatever chicken dish you like!) This is a must make ~ easy peasy & yummy.

See!

 

Last night I decided to bake up the rest of the chicken I bought at the store… 2 bone-in chicken breasts & 4 drumsticks.

I combined these spices & rubbed them all over the chicken.

  • 2 cloves garlic, finely minced (or I use a micro plane to grate them into the mixture! They almost ‘melt’ in)
  • 1 teaspoon dried leaf oregano
  • dash salt
  • 1 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil

Bake at 425 for 40-50 min till juices run clear & meat thermoneter registers 170 degrees (mine read 180 when I pulled them out). Steve at a drumstick with some leftover french onion soup for dinner. But I’m saving the rest!!

I let them rest to cool down & then plan to use the left overs for chicken enchilades tonight night! YUMMO!

 

I have to say, I’m kind of pumped that I was able to step out of my “comfort zone” and bake these bone-in dishes!!!!!

You can do it too!

4 Comments

Filed under Chicken

4 responses to “Simple Baked Chicken

  1. Lauren

    Hey! You ate chicken! That’s progress! ;o)

  2. Pingback: Chicken, Vegetable, & Wild Rice Soup | Steve and Brit's Blog

  3. Pingback: Green Chicken Chile Enchiladas | Steve and Brit's Blog

Leave a Reply

