There is such a thing as…

… too much of a good thing.

In the last few months I’ve had to drink numerous orange sugary drinks. Neither experience was fun. You’d think I’d learn that my body does not like sugar, nor is it processing it adequately. But alas, I still seem to CRAVE sugar on a daily basis. This is not good on so many levels… not so good for the little squirt, not so good for my chances of developing gestational diabetes, not so good for my digestive system, not so good for my overall health and not so good for my productivity! Every time I eat sugar, I just want to take a nap. Today was no exception. I ate a large handful of M&Ms & a sugar cookie. This is not enough to send the average person (or even me at this time last year) into a tail spin. But man! did it ever send me into la la land today.

As I work to cut down on the sugar & carbs in my diet… I wonder what we did before the invention of aspartame. Any kind of processed food that says “low sugar” or “sugar free” is chalked full of this stuff. Unfortunately, aspartame seems to be linked to all kinds of yucky outcomes for your body. I should note, that there is a debate that rages about whether or not these claims are true. Let’s just say I’m on the “no aspartame” side of this battle!

So many of the foods we eat have a TON of sugar in them… even plain greek yogurt (and milk!!) The yogurt that I used to buy had 22 g of sugar. The one I currently buy, plain greek fage yogurt 2% milk fat has 8g. EIGHT. I was so surprised by this fact. I guess I never thought that milk had sugar in it. However, this is really the lowest sugar yogurt I’ve found on the market (w/o aspartame or some other artificial sweetner in it). So I’m sticking with it for now!

Any way, there really isn’t much of a point to this post other than to say that cutting sugar out of ones diet is a tall order. I’m not trying to eliminate it entirely… but just cut out the non-essential sugars. So of course, I’m still eating fruit, drinking milk, and eating yogurt. I’m not going crazy… but it is a challenge to stick change ones eating habits after so many years.

I think it’s time for a big tall glass of WATER to take my mind off my bed that is calling my name… šŸ™‚

credit for images:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/shafnitz/

theworldaccordingtoeggface.blogspot.com

3 Comments

Filed under Baby "Pete"

3 responses to “There is such a thing as…

  1. Mom

    Maybe some of it was the way you were brought up. Your parents are sugar addicts (I’m a “recovering” sugar addict; fighting the battle on a daily, hourly, or even minute by minute basis). Your dad used to be a baker ~ maybe you’re psychologically yearning for your childhood??? The first 3 days of giving up sugar are the hardest. Once you change your focus away from refined sugars (and flours) it gets easier; but the “sugar monster” and his demons are always lurking nearby.

    • Steve & Brit

      Ha! I love to blame things on anything/one but myself…so thanks mom šŸ™‚

      • Mom

        You can blame me. I don’t care, I can take it. BTW, sorry about that. I was a nutritional ignoramous while I was raising you kids. I’m glad you’ll be better raising your kids. I will give the grandkids cookies when they come to Grammy and Gramps’ house, but there will be stuff hidden in them (like cauliflower or prunes). šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

