Chicken, Vegetable, & Wild Rice Soup

There is something about the cold weather that brings on a desire for a nice warm bowl of soup. We’ve been eating a WHOLE lot of soup in this house lately!! I had some left over chicken from the yummy baked chicken I made this week… (this is now a weekly occurrence in our home. It’s SO much cheaper to buy organic whole chickens than organic chicken breasts!). Anyway! I had some extra meat so I decided to make a simple chicken soup.

It’s super easy… here’s the recipe in case you want to give it a whirl!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 lb organic chicken *I used pulled white & dark meat chicken that had been shredded from this “rotisserie” chicken 🙂
  • 1 small bag of organic baby carrots, diced
  • 1/2 bunch of organic celery, diced
  • 1/2 organic sweet yellow onion, diced
  • 2 quarts organic chicken broth or stock
  • approx 4 c. water
  • 1/2 c. wild rice
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 2-3 tsp oregano
  • whole pepper corns (approx 1/2 Tbsp)
  • 2 tsp dried rosemary

Dice all veggies & add to a large stock pot. Add liquids. Put the peppercorns and rosemary in a spice bag (if you have one). I actually used a tea steeper 🙂 I wanted to have rosemary flavor w/o the pieces in the soup since Steve isn’t a big fan!! If you don’t have one of these, it’s totally fine to just dump the rosemary & use regular ground pepper in the soup. Add in bay leaf & oregano. Bring to a boil. Then turn the heat down & Simmer for 1.5 hours.

Add in wild rice and extra water if needed. You want to make sure to have enough water in the soup since the rice will absorb a lot of liquid 🙂 Simmer for another 30-40 min until rice is fully cooked.

The soup tastes better the longer it’s simmer. However, if you’re pressed for time, you can probably just add the rice from the beginning & simmer till everything is fully cooked.

Steve & I were both in LOVE with this soup. So EASY yet incredibly yummy 🙂

4 Comments

Filed under Soups

4 responses to “Chicken, Vegetable, & Wild Rice Soup

  1. It sounds really good and actually is something I often crave when it’s cold. Unfortunately neither my wife nor I cook very much from scratch so I guess I’ll be resorting to canned. But your’s is much better I’m sure.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out and the Blogging From A to Z April Challenge 2011

  2. Mom

    Oh that looks SO GOOD! 🙂

    • Steve & Brit

      thanks mom 🙂 it IS good! We polished it off pretty quickly. I would usually put noodles in this type of soup, but I figured with my new food restrictions…that wild rice would take longer to break down!

Leave a Reply

