An accidental recipe…

Quinoa Salad!

This morning I was boiling water to make some yummy steel cut oats. Unfortunately, my vision (ehm brain?) must have been a bit hazy & I ended up cooking quinoa instead! Whoops!

I quickly boiled more water for my lovely breakfast~ and finished cooking the quinoa. Lots of grains in our house this AM!!  I was determined to find a way to use the quinoa for dinner/lunch so it didn’t just go to waste, so of course, I posted on facebook 🙂 I got lots of awesome looking recipe suggestions! Some of which I’m definitely going to try in the future.

However…I was lazy. I didn’t want to go to the store. So this was the recipe that was born:

Quinoa Salad

  • 1 c. quinoa
  • 3.5 c. water
  • 1/2 c. craisins (with blueberry juice)
  • 1/4 c. pine nuts
  • 6 oz feta cheese
  • 1 orange (the juice & the rind) … next time I’d use 2.
  • 1 bunch cilantro, chopped
  • 3 green onions, diced
  • 1-2 Tbsp jalapeno jelly (I used a tastefully simple brand, but you could really use anything)

Also, next time I’ll add in some chick peas! I meant to…but for whatever reason, I totally forgot. I’ll likely add a bit of olive oil tomorrow before we eat it just to moisten the mixture.

all & all~ it turned out to be fairly yummy for an early morning mistake!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Salads

Leave a Reply

