Jambalaya

Well, sort of 🙂

I guess TRUE jambalaya would have seafood (crab or shrimp typically) and chicken in the ingredients list. This version only has andouille sausage~ so it’s a bit of a cheater jambalaya! Trying the keep the grocery bills down just a bit 🙂

The first time we ever had jambalaya was in ATX. A friend from church made it for us. One bite & I was hooked. After that I never turned down an invitation for a homemade jambalaya dinner!!

Until a few days ago, I had never actually tried to make this yummy dish. I’m not sure why…it’s not difficult. Maybe it just sounded intimidating? It turned out AMAZING! Super super yummy 🙂 Steve likes it too. It’s got a bit of a kick (from a northern perspective)~ the kind of heat that hits you in the middle to back of your mouth. It’s not the instantaneous heat that starts at the tip of your tongue. You’ll definitely want a big bowl of ICE CREAM after eating this jambalaya for dinner 🙂

I think my favorite part of jambalaya is the how the rice breaks down & gets a bit sticky. Now… I’m not saying this is the “right” way to make it. I am absolutely NOT an authority on it 🙂 (Clearly, how can a Wisco girl know!) BUT, the texture of broken down rice gets me every time.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb andouille sausage
  • olive oil
  • 2 Tbsp flour
  • 3 bell peppers, diced (I used red, yellow, and green)
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 stalk celery, diced
  • 1 box minute (brown) rice (I think most versions use white, but we prefer the whole grains!)
  • 1 can diced, fire roasted tomatoes
  • 3 c. chicken broth
  • 2 c. water
  • 2-3 tsp cayenne pepper (less if you’re a “wimp” when it comes to spice 🙂 )
  • 1 tbsp smoked paprika (this is a bit non-traditional, but I wanted the smokey flavor to be infused in the dish)

Process…

Brown the sausage in a deep stock pot with olive oil. Once fully cooked, remove sausage from pan with a slotted spoon. Add flour to pan. Stir with sausage drippings (and extra olive oil if needed) till fully combined. Add the peppers, celery, onions, and garlic to the pan. Add in extra olive oil if need be to prevent sticking. Cook veggies for a few minutes till softened. Add in the remaining ingredients (and put the sausage back in the pot). Stir to combine. Bring pot to a boil, then reduce heat. Simmer on low for 30-45 min or until rice is fully cooked and liquids are absorbed. Mine went pretty quickly… probably b/c I used minute rice 🙂 but if you use regular rice, it will likely take longer!

Serve & enjoy 🙂

Notes.

  • I think most jambalaya uses pre-cooked sausage?? b/c our version of sausage looked more like brats, but tasted like andouille. It didn’t hold it’s shape like I expected. And…it wasn’t red? 🙂 But the flavor was spot on. We got it from our local farmers market ~ $5 for a lb. I thought that was a pretty darn good deal. But maybe my perspective is skewed b/c of how much groceries cost here??
  • If you use the water & cooking time as specified, the recipe is very thick (as opposed to ‘juicy’ like some recipes). I add about 1/4 c. of water or chicken broth to the bowl when I warm leftovers up. Add broth, stir, then microwave. Otherwise I’m sure it would be far too dry.
  • Steve said he’d double sausage next time… I think I’d just cut the amount of rice down a bit (same idea, more meat less grain)!!
  • This batch is HUGE~ it can serve a crowd or be eaten as leftovers for days (as long as it doesn’t have seafood)… from what I hear, shrimp doesn’t reheat very well. I think if I were to make it with shrimp, I’d actually have two separate pots ~ so I could add in the seafood only to the amount we planned to eat that night.
2 Comments

Filed under Main Course

2 responses to “Jambalaya

  1. This makes sense to me. Jambalaya seems like a pretty versatile dish that mainly relies on the rice, sausage, and seasonings and the other meats are optional per availabilty and preference. I do like the added chicken and seafood, but in a melange dish such as this who really notices that much when one of them is missing.

    Now I’m hungry.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

    • Steve & Brit

      🙂 Thanks Lee! We ate off of this batch for several days. I love how long it lasts. Very yummy & practical!

Leave a Reply

