Exploring different yogurt options

We just got back from the grocery store a few minutes ago…and I made the mistake (?) of totalling up what we spent on YOGURT.

We bought:

8 chobani yogurts @ $1.19 a piece

5 Fage greek yogurt, 2% milk fat @ $1.79 a piece



for a grand total of…. $18.47 FOR YOGURT. Ummm…. seriously?

How is it that expensive??!!!
Let me take a second & back up here. As most of you know, Steve & I try to buy mostly organic, natural, and local food. AND I’m trying to cut down my simple sugars to keep gestational diabetes at bay… here enter chobani (no high fructose corn syrup or other artificial sweetners/aspartme) for Steve & Fage greek yogurt (no sugar added) for me. Do you know difficult it is to find wholesome yogurt? It’s tough, even with the incredibly large selection that most stores offer.

Anyway, I digress. $18+ is WAY to much $$ to spend on yogurt for a week. So next week I’m going back to making my own plain yogurt. I have an awesome yogurt maker that my folks gave me a little over a year ago. When we moved here, I was just aghast at the price of organic milk… so I stopped making yogurt. But now that I see how much yogurt costs, I think I’m giving the homemade variety another go!

I’ll let you know how it works out!

If you have any grocery store crunching tips, I’d love to hear about them! 🙂

picture credit: healthycoconut.wordpress.com & foodmayhem.com

4 Comments

Filed under Athens, Food/Diet, Musings

4 responses to “Exploring different yogurt options

  1. do you have a Costco anywhere nearby? I know your pain about paying so much for yogurt…it’s pure craziness. If you do by chance have a Costco I think it’s worth the membership for the yogurt alone. They have packs of 12 Chobani’s and large containers of Fage.

    • Steve & Brit

      Great suggestion!!
      Sadly, we have nothing “nearby” … The joys of living in a small town 🙂 The closest Costco and Sams Clubs are 45 min away. We still have a Sam’s membership for laundry detergent, TP, and paper towels…still seems to pay for itself even though we can only shop once a month. We’ll have to check out Costco next time our membership is up!

  2. Rachael

    We LOVE Chobani!! It’s good stuff!

    • Steve & Brit

      🙂 it just tastes more ‘real’ 🙂 than lots of other yogurts! Before long, Noah will be chowing down on yogurt too!

Leave a Reply

