Greek-ish Couscous

As of late, I’ve really been trying to eat healthy lunches at school.

I used to eat a deli meat sandwich the days I taught. But apparently you’re not suppose to eat cold cuts during pregnancy. Bleh ~ enter in the lovely cheese sandwich. Yeah. That’s what I ate during all of fall quarter. I had a smear of laughing cow light spreadable cheese & then a slice of gouda between to pieces of bread. Sounds super appetizing right!? Well, it got old. I started eating pecan butter & creamed honey sandwiches. Also good, but not 2-3x’s a week every week.

January rolled around & it was time to get more creative!

I started making “salads” … substantial salads 🙂 like the quinoa one from last week. AND this awesome couscous one that I am not officially in love with. It’s really easy to prepare & can be eaten warm, cold, or at room temperature. I love the versatility of it. Though, I would store it in the fridge b/c of the cheese aspect 🙂
Ingredients:

  • 2 c. dry couscous
  • 2 green onions, diced
  • 5-10 baby carrots, shredded
  • 1/4 c. sun dried tomatoes cut into bite-sized pieces (I used the dried kind & just re-hydrated them)
  • 1 can garbanzo beans, drained & rinsed
  • 6 oz feta cheese
  • 1/2 c. pecans, broken up a bit…I used my hands  (though pine nuts would be even better!)
  • 1/2 c. golden raisins (regular raisins would be fine, I just had golden on hand)

For the “dressing”

  • 1-2 lemons (juice AND rind) ~ I used one, but you may need two if you don’t have a juicy lemon!
  • 2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1/2 tsp ground corriander
  • 1/2 tsp yellow curry powder
  • approx 1/8-1/4 c. olive oil

Cook couscous per package instructions (I just cooked it in water, not chicken broth or anything like that). Fluff & let it cool slightly.

In the meantime, dice & shred up the veggies. Put all ingredients (except couscous) in a large bowl and toss to combine. When couscous has cooled slightly (you don’t want it to melt the cheese), add it to the mix! Pour the dressing on the salad and stir to combine.

A few notes….

I chilled mine b/c I like cold salads like this 🙂 It’s kept pretty well too! You can adjust the dressing amount to your own taste. You want to have enough to coat (but not soak) the dish.

Also… you should know that I don’t actually measure my ingredients (unless I’m baking!) …so the couscous is really the only thing that has an “exact” measurement on it…the rest was just by sight. I guess what I’m trying to say is, feel free to add and/or subtract ingredients and amounts as you see fit.

I personally think what made this so good was the balance between salty (cheese), sweet (raisins), and tart (lemon).

It would also be great (and more greek-ish) with some cherry tomatoes. Unfortunately they are NOT in season and pretty $$ right now.

Come to think of it… does the curry powder make this an indian dish? or the corriander make it a mexican dish? hmmm… either way, it’s a super yummy dish!

Leave a comment

Filed under Salads

Leave a Reply

