Not your Grandma’s Tuna Noodle Casserole!

Last month I got a bonus 2011 Cookbook from Better Homes & Gardens. I think it came right along with my magazine subscription. Yes, I have a subscription to BHG & I am officially old. Well… in all fairness, I DID get a year FREE after we bought BGH bookshelves from walmart. But since then, I renewed my membership~ so I guess I qualify as being old enough to enjoy a BHG magazine.

Now, I say this not as a bash on BHG, but more as a reflection on the fact that I’ve moved into a totally different age bracket. I can no longer even stomach the teen magazines that I used to adore. I’m pretty sure that Cooking Light is my very favorite! Pretty soon I”ll be reading parenting magazines. Just you wait.

Anyway, back on track. In the Free 2011 cookbook, there was a recipe for a Mediterranean-style tuna casserole. It caught my eye. I made some modifications (to our taste & cupboard) and the result was fantastic!

I decided to call it “Not your Grandma’s Tuna Noodle Casserole” b/c this recipe lacks a key ingredient: cream of mushroom or chicken soup! Also, it’s just a little bit to snazzy to be grandmas… at least, it my down home grandma wouldn’t have made this dish!!

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 box (or 6oz) of noodles (we used whole wheat rotini noodles)
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 onion, sliced
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely minced
  • 5-6 kalamata olives, chopped
  • 2-5oz cans of tuna (in water), drained
  • 1/4 c. sun dried tomatoes (rehydrated)
  • 2 tsp capers
  • 1/4 – 1/2 c. frozen peas (I tossed them in frozen)
  • 1  handful of fresh cherry or grape tomatoes, sliced in half
  • 8 oz low fat sour cream (I am a food snob here & have to use daisy brand)
  • 1 Tbsp butter
  • 1/4 – 1/2 c. water
  • 6 oz guyere cheese, shredded

Boil noodles till al dente.

While noodles are boiling, prepare the rest of the dish. In an oven proof pan, saute onions & garlic in olive oil till tender. Add in the olives, tuna, sundried tomatoes, cherry tomatoes, frozen peas, and capers.  Stir to combine. Then push the ingredients to the side & toss in the sour cream & butter. Stir to melt. Add in as much water as need to make for a semi saucy consistency. You’re going to bake it for 220-30 min so you don’t want it to get dry!

Add the cooked noodles to the rest of the ingredients. Toss to combine. Top with shredded cheese. Bake @ 350 uncovered for 20 min. Then broil till cheese is brown (approx 2-3 minutes depending on how far away your dish is from the broiler!)

This made the house smell fantastic and it was SUPER easy! Hope y’all like it as well as we did!

4 Comments

Filed under Main Course, Pasta

4 responses to “Not your Grandma’s Tuna Noodle Casserole!

  1. This looks and sounds absolutely exquisite. A far cry from the Tuna Helper casseroles I used to make.

    Lee
    Tossing It Out

  2. Mom

    Looks GOOD! But since I’ll be a “Grammy”, I guess I wouldn’t qualify to make it. LOL 🙂

Leave a Reply

