Grandma’s Dutch Apple Pie

Sometimes the easiest recipes are the absolute best!

My grandma was the best cook & baker that I’ve ever known… I’m guessing that statement is true of most grandmas 🙂 It’s almost like the word “grandma” implies rockstar baker/cook. Anyway! When she passed away, I asked my folks to make sure I got her cookbooks & recipe cards. I often spend time digging through her books and cards (looking at the handwritten scribbles). I love it.

One of the recipes I’ve found that I make again & again is her Dutch Apple Pie. It is seriously the easiest recipe ever AND it tastes amazing!

The filling seems to almost turn to a gooey caramel when baked. The recipe is made even easier with a store bought pie shell. Though, for holidays & special occasions, I take the time to make my own 🙂

Full disclosure: I did NOT make this pie for Easter… or to share with anyone else. I just made it for Steve & I… I’m thinking this was a bad idea…but oh well! It’s oh so yummy & worth it 🙂 Right??


Best part about this recipe~ it is ridiculously simple. Tough to screw up 🙂 Scratch that, the best part of this recipe is that it’s my grandma’s…and every time I make it, I think of her. 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 1 unbaked pie shell (homemade or store bought)
  • 5-6 small (or 4 large) apples (I used green & fiji)
  • 3/4 c. white sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon

Topping:

  • 2/3 c. flour
  • 1/2 c. brown sugar
  • 1/3 c. cold butter
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

Preheat oven 425. Prepare pie plate by spraying with cooking spray & then dusting with flour.

Filling: Mix white sugar, cinnamon, and apples. Place in pie shell.

Topping: Combine topping ingredients (cutting in butter, or combining with your fingers). sprinkle on top of the pie filling. Bake at 425 for 15 min, reduce heat to 375 and bake for 35 min. Let cool for 15 min before cutting.

Leave a comment

Filed under Dessert

Leave a Reply

