Zucchini Feta Cakes

I am super pumped that I actually succeeded in GROWING something in the garden!! YAY! I’ve always had a black thumb… killed every living thing in sight. Not intentionally of course 🙂 But you get the idea. When I was in kindergarten, we grew sunflowers. Well, my classmates grew them, I tried.

When students seeds weren’t growing, teacher would add another few seeds (when we weren’t looking) and help the sunflowers a long a bit. Guess who’s pot never even sprouted? Yep, THIS GIRL. My mom tells me that my teacher was just mortified and felt so sorry for me. So I guess my black thumb began at a young age. Since then, I’ve killed many plants… Basil, Aloe, Peace Lily. You name it, I’ve killed it. So when I successfully plucked my very first veggie out of the garden this past week I was over the moon!! SUCCESS! I am not a total lost cause 🙂

Very very soon I might have an over abundance of zucchini.

Yes, I made Steve take a photo of me with my zucchini. Yes, I am crazy.

We shall see. If that becomes the case, I will be making these yummy zucchini feta cakes time & time again.

Cakes

  • 2 yellow summer squash, grated
  • 2 green summer squash, grated
  • 1/2 red onion, thinly sliced
  • 3 small garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 c.-1 c. bread crumbs, plain, divided
  • 1 in x 1 in cube of feta cheese, crumbled

Sauce

  • stone ground mustard
  • honey
  • mayo

I used my trusty food processor to grate the zucchini and summer squash. SO easy. I love it. I need to use that thing more often.

Next, I sauteed up the garlic & red onion in a bit of olive oil and then let them cool a bit.

At that point, I put about 1/2 c. of bread crumbs on a small plate and set it next to the stove top 🙂

Then I tossed the cooled onions/garlic mixture and all of the remaining “cake” ingredients into a large bowl and combine the mixture with my hands. I formed the mixture into small cakes and flattened. Then I pressed each side of the cake into the plate with the bread crumbs and placed it in a hot, dry skillet. I didn’t add any oil, but I’m sure you could if you wanted for extra crisp! I cooked each cake for maybe 5 min total? until both sides were golden brown.

Mix together the honey mustard ingredients and serve with the zucchini feta cakes!! Good & good for ya!


Leave a comment

Filed under Main Course

Leave a Reply

