Deleted emails, dirty diapers, and disappearing wallets.

Yep, that title sums up my day yesterday.

——

It’s been a rough few weeks…. which is probably why I’ve been posting exclusively about food.

I’m still not sure how I feel about airing my life out online…

But here goes.

Yesterday was kind of the icing on the stress cake. I accidentally deleted pretty much every email that has ever been sent to me and every email I have ever sent to anyone else. It all started with a little notification from gmail that I was at 95% capacity. What?! Not sure how that happened, but it did. Probably all those darn photos I’ve been sending out 🙂

Needless to say, I decided to delete my sent mail box thinking, surely this will only delete messages that originated with me. Um no. It deleted those messages AND every other message that I have ever “touched” That is, any message that I have replied to. So yeah, my capacity went from 95% full to 12% full in 2.5 seconds flat. Okay, more like a minute. But AHHHHH I didn’t realize what I’d done until it was too late. Tear. The emails are permenantely unrecoverable. Gone. And let’s just say Google was not very helpful/friendly or even nice about the whole thing.

I save a lot of my work in my email and all of it was lost (e.g., emails from co-authors about projects, any kind of document anyone has ever sent me, etc. sigh).

I spent the afternoon trying to get back on track. Around 5:00 I went and picked up sweet Pax from the sitters. It’s by far the best part of my day. I decided to swing by the grocery store to pick up the ingredients for the Kheema. We get there and I realize Pax has a …ehm… dirty diaper. And I don’t have the diaper bag b/c I typically just head home right from the sitters. Yeah. Awesome.

So I make the executive decision that our child can sit in his diaper for a few more minutes and head into the store. After a whirlwind (and uneventful) trip around the store. I pull out of Kroger and on to the open road blissfully unaware that I have left my WALLET IN THE CART!! Oh boy.

I realize it when I get home. I frantically call Kroger. Praise God, some nice person has turned my wallet in (and has not stolen a single thing). So thankful that there are still some honest people left in the world.

All in all, yesterday was a terrible day. But I need to remember that all of these challenges are just hiccups. They are truly unimportant in the grand scheme of life. I am so blessed. I just need to keep reminding myself that these things are simply mundane details of life and they are trying to weigh me down.

I can’t let them. I have a greater purpose. One that’s bigger than myself. THAT is what I need to remember.

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

