Trying new things…Kheema!

 

….Indian Ground Beef with Peas and Tomatoes

I was watching food network last Saturday morning and Aarti Party was on. I’m not typically a fan of Indian food, but she’s just so adorable that I kept watching. She made this dish called Kheema, and it looked simple and yummy. So I decided to give it a whirl. SO glad I did! It was fantastic. I would highly recommend it to any Indian food novices 🙂 Maybe just lay off the red pepper a bit if you’re worried about the heat.

 

 

Aarti’s recipe here.

  • 3 tablespoons canola oil (I used olive oil)
  • 1 vdalia onion, finely diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, (I grated with a microplane)
  • 1 (1-inch thumb) fresh ginger, peeled  (I grated with a microplane)
  • 2 teaspoons ground coriander
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp ground cloves (*I used cinnamon & cloves in place of the original spice garam masala which I didn’t have at home)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne, (I used the full amount, but some might want to cut this in half. Steve ended up using a bit of sour cream to tone down the spice!)
  • 1 pound ground beef (or ground turkey etc.)
  • 2 medium tomatoes, chopped (I used a handful of cherry & roma tomatoes from the garden)
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 cup shucked fresh English peas or 1/2 cup frozen peas, thawed (I totally used a bag of frozen peas.)
  • 2 teaspoons malt vinegar or apple cider vinegar (I used cider vinegar)
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro, plus a few extra leaves for garnish

Saute onion in olive oil till it starts to brown. Add in garlic & ginger and saute for 1 minute. Add in the ground beef and all of the spices. Cook beef fully then add in the diced tomatoes. The recipe calls for 1 c. of water at this point. Many of the foodnetwork reviewers said they only added 1/2 c. I added 1/2 c. but then ended up adding in another 1/2 c. later on as the dish simmered. Use your judgement. 1 c. was actually perfect for us 🙂 simmer for 10 minutes

add in the de-thawed peas (okay, if I’m being honest, mine were still frozen!) and simmer an add’l 5 minutes. Stir in the vinegar & cilantro. Taste to see if the dish needs add’l salt & pepper. Serve

We ate this was some store bought Naan bread which was fantastic. But you can use tortillas or really any kind of bread.

Even Steve loved this dish!

Leave a comment

Filed under Main Course

Leave a Reply

