Snack Mix (aka, salty/sweet crack)

This stuff is addictive. Do NOT make it unless you want to consume handful after handful.

A few years back Steve and I went over to my cousin’s house and she made this snack. We couldn’t get enough of it. For some reason it came to mind a few days ago and I just had to make it!  This recipe is also very versatile. I actually forgot the fritos in this round~ but it was just as yummy. Some people use popcorn instead of the corn puffs… really you can toss anything “trail-mixy” in here and it will taste awesome.  Here is the Halloween version that made me remember this dish. Here’s a s’mores version… yummy. This one is next on my list!

  • 1 bag Fritos (the regular size)
  • 1 bag Pretzels (I like the mini twists)
  • 1 bag white cheddar corn puffs (OR popcorn but the corn puffs are SO MUCH BETTER!)
  • Approx 1 c. nuts, any kind (I used pecans)
  • 1 large package M&Ms
  • 1 pkg. Almond Bark (white chocolate coating)

I set out 2 large jelly roll pans and tossed all of the ingredients except the almond bark on them. Then you melt the almond bark in the microwave and drizzle over the other ingredients. Toss to coat (this is easiest with your hands!) Flatten out on the pans and let sit till hard. I actually needed the white chocolate coating to harden in a hurry so I popped the pans in the freezer for a few minutes each. Presto yummy 🙂

 

2 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Dessert

2 responses to “Snack Mix (aka, salty/sweet crack)

  1. Lauren

    I’ve seen you enthusiastic about various recipes before, but wow. you must really love this one ;o) hehe

Leave a Reply

