Pecan-Crusted Pork Noisettes

I honestly have no clue what a “noisette” is.

But it sounded yummy.

Last month’s edition of Cooking Light featured pork recipes. I’ve never been one to eat much pork. When I was little, my mom would sometimes stick garlic cloves inside of a large (3lb?) pork loin, rub it with olive oil, and roast it till done. It was pretty yummy. But other than that (AND BACON) our house was a pretty pork-free zone. I mean, we had the very occasional pork chop. But they always seemed to be tough and unappealing. So as an adult, I’ve never really branched out into the pork world. Well, that is, except for crockpot pulled pork. [SIDE NOTE. You MUST try Bobby Flay’s BBQ sauce recipe. BEST. Sauce. EVER.] But I digress.

This recipe was even better than I imagined.

It was SUPER freaking time consuming…especially with a 6 month old [YES, he’s 6 months as of yesterday] army-crawling his way around my kitchen floor. But it was worth the time and effort. On the plus side, these are very affordable especially if  you buy pecans in bulk. We get them at Sams Club. We have 2 lbs of left over pork that I’m going to put in the crock pot today. I think the whole loin was around $13?? Which is expensive. I’m sure y’all who life in big cities can get it for a whole lot cheaper than that!!

I also added a sauce. The recipe said to serve it with lemon wedges (which I’m sure would be yummy and maybe what makes it a noisette?? but honey mustard sounded just simply amazing to me).

Ingredients Pork

  • 3/4 c. finely chopped pecans (food processor)
  • 3/4 c. bread crumbs (originally recipe says panko) I used a wheat bun, toasted it, and then whirled it up in my food processor to make “bigger” panko-esk bread crumbs
  • 1/3 c. flour
  • 1 egg
  • splash water
  • 1 lb pork
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 1 Tbsp butter, divided

Ingredients Sauce

  • 2 Tbsp honey
  • 1 Tbsp brown mustard (I used coarse ground)
  • 5-6 Tbsp light mayo (to taste)

Preheat oven to 350. Spread the bread crumbs & pecan crumbs on a baking sheet and toast for 10 minutes.

Trim pork of fat. This step sucks, I’s just sayin’. Then cut the pork into 8 equal pieces (slicing like you would slice & bake cookies). Put the pork under a piece of wax paper and pound with a meat mallet until 1/4 inch thin. To me, this is about as thin as I could pound it. I also pounded it out on a glass cutting board so I could run it through the dish washer.

At this point, you’re suppose to season the meat with salt & pepper. I know it’s important to season all layers, but I’m going to be honest. I did not do this. I ended up just S&P the bread crumb mixture.

Then you set up your dipping station:

1. flour 2. Egg + splash of water 3. pecan/bread crumbs, S&P 4. plate

Take each piece of pork, coat in flour, dip in egg, press into crumb mixture, set aside, repeat.

I used two large non stick pans.. put 1 1/2 tsp – 1 Tbsp of butter in each pan. Let it melt and then add in the pork cutlets. Brown for 2 minutes a side. Put on a baking sheet and stick in the 350 degree oven for 5 minutes.

While pork is baking mix up the dipping sauce.

Honestly, I was really impressed with these. They had flavor on their own~ which I wasn’t expecting b/c they seemed a bit underseasoned to me. But roasting the pecans in advance really enhanced the natural nut flavors. Also, the pork was SUPER tender. You wouldn’t ever even know it was pork. Steve kept asking me, are you sure this isn’t chicken 🙂 it was cute.

Verdict: Win in the pork department. I’d make it again ~ when Steve is home and can entertain the kiddo!!

 

Notes:

  • Sorry, no photo. It just looked like a pork cutlet. Nothing special.
  • The recipe called for panko. I am cheap. Instead I toasted an old wheat hamburger bun in the toaster. Then ground it up with my food processor and used it in the receipe as if it were panko 🙂
  • The recipe called for 1/3 c. pecans and 1/3 c. panko~ I found you needed to up this pretty substantially. I probably ground up 1/2 c. of each and I still didn’t have enough to cover. I had 3 pieces of “left over pork” that I ended up just coating in flour and some smoked paprika, salt & pepper. It was not nearly as good.
  • I pounded these pretty thin~ about as thin as I could get them w/o going through them.
  • Steve microwaved his when he got home and they were still pretty tender (and not rubbery)
  • I bet they would be good on a cold sandwich the next day
  • I wonder if they would freeze…anyone know?
Leave a comment

Filed under Pork

Leave a Reply

