Always dissatisfied

It seems like no matter what stage people are at in life~ they are always dissatisfied. And by people, I mean ‘ehm, ehm’… ME.

I’ve been through many a phase where I felt the overwhelming frustration of not being satisfied…

  • Looking back to high school… I was not one of the popular kids. I wanted to be cool, but it wasn’t meant to be πŸ™‚ I was dissatisfied.
  • In college, I always wanted a serious boyfriend. It took me a few years to find one πŸ™‚ in the meantime, I was dissatisfied.
  • When Steve and I met and fell in love, I wanted him to propose immediately (I know, I was irrational). I was dissatisfied.
  • When we finally did get in engaged and married, people started asking us when we were going to have kids. Waiting seemed to last forever and I was dissatisfied.
  • And now, here I am with everything. Really, more than I could ever hope or dream for… plainly more then I deserve and yet, I am often dissatisfied.

Case in point… My sweet friend (and our sitter) texted me today to tell me that my son pulled himself up on a train table for the very first time. He was sitting, and then he was standing. I cried. I wasn’t there to see it. In the moment…I was more than dissatisfied. I was devastated.

I’m going to choose today to focus on the things that should satisfy me. The things that are not of this world. Jesus is all I need. He has blessed me with am amazing family, a wonderful job, and loving people to care for our son. I should be joyful over Pax’s mini accomplishment today. It’s tough that I wasn’t the one to see it. But I am thankful that we have a strong son who is constantly growing, changing, and challenging himself.

We are truly blessed.

John 14:27Β  Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.

Just heard this on Pandora… love it.
5 Comments

Filed under Baby "Pete", Musings

5 responses to “Always dissatisfied

  1. Jen

    i read a blog that has been doing a series on choosing the “good portion”-in other words looking for the blessing in each situation rather than what to be discouraged by. this post reminded me of that. love you friend. i can’t believe he pulled himself up so early!

  2. I can totally relate:) Can’t wait for the day we are redeemed and fully satisfied in Him alone!

Leave a Reply

