Sweet Potato Casserole…

…ehm, dessert. Sweet potato dessert.

Would you believe that up until this year I had NEVER in my life made a sweet potato casserole (SPC). Okay, maybe you could believe that. But what if I told you I had never even TRIED a SPC? True story. Never, ever, ever. It just wasn’t a tradition in my family.

Honestly, I think that SPC has a much greater following in the southern states. Us northerners just don’t eat healthy potatoes rich in vitamin sugary goodness!

My sweet friend Lacy gave me this recipe. It was everything she claimed it would be and more. To Die For.

  • 3-4 large sweet potatoes, peeled, and diced into small pieces for roasting
  • 4 tbsp butter
  • 1/4-1/2 c. half & half
  • 1/4-1/2 c. brown sugar
  • vanilla

Topping

  • 1/4-1/2 c. brown sugar
  • 1/4-1/2 c. sweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/4 c. quick cooking oats
  • 1/4 c. chopped pecans
  • 2-4 Tbsp cold butter

Peel and dice sweet potatoes. Roast at 425 until soft (the time depends on how small you cut the pieces!).. I think I roasted mine for like 30 minutes. Toss the sweet potatoes, butter, 1/2 & 1/2,  brown sugar, and a dash of vanilla in a large mixer (or big bowl) and blend up till sweet and smooth. Tasting is mandatory.

Then spread the potatoes in a casserole dish (I think that the shallow long ones like a 9×13 are the best because you have more room for topping, duh!

Combine all of the topping ingredients (except for the marshmellows) in a small bowl. Use your fingers to squish everything together in a crumb like mixture. Then put on top of the potatoes. Top with a handful of mini marshmellows.

Bake at 350 for 30-40 minutes until the potatoes are steamy, the top is crunchy, and the marshmellows have browned up a bit.

I kid you not, I ate this cold out of the fridge for breakfast on Friday. Yeah… I definitely need to make my way to a tread mill soon!! 🙂

ps. this photo sucks, I know.

pps. If I ever become a professional blogger (HA!!!) then I will pull out the trusty Nikon and take real photos of food again. Till then, the iphone SO much quicker!

Leave a comment

Filed under Side dishes

Leave a Reply

