Approval Idol…

… I hate it.

I’m usually a control idol type of person. I’m used to addressing the control idols in my life. I can usually see them coming a mile a way. A deadline is fast approaching? Schedule time to work harder. A big trip coming up? Make a to do list (and a travel “pile”). Baby not sleeping, look at babywise & the internet for clues as to why!! Diagnose and solve the problem. That’s my typically mantra….AND my biggest idol struggle. I like to be in control of things. I feel comfort when I know “what the plan is.” I need to constantly remind myself that HE’S got this. HE is in control. Jesus already knows when I will finish the paper. He knows what I will forget to pack. He knows why little man won’t sleep well and when he’ll (hopefully) get back on track. Control is an idol that I constantly pray against.

But approval. I don’t have an Approval idol, right? HA.

The first step is admitting you have a problem. In other words~ I need Jesus!

I don’t know what it is, but I feel SO incredibly hurt when I’m “left out” of things. If I’m not invited to a party, if I’m left out of a conversation, if I’m not “in the know”…these things upset me much more than they should. Then today it hit me. I have an approval idol. When I’m wanting to be invited, knowledgeable, and conversed with~ it’s because I want people to like me. Involving me in all of these things conveys “liking” or “approval.” Yeah. I’m a sinner in need of a Savior.

Seriously. The only person’s approval I should really be seeking is Jesus’.

Read this verse this morning and it was definitely uplifting: Psalm 130: 5 I wait for the Lord, my soul  waits, And in His word I hope.

Amen.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Musings

2 responses to “Approval Idol…

  1. jen

    geeze, glad i don’t deal with that ; )

    seriously though, i am right there with you but it shows up in different ways for me.

Leave a Reply

