Baby Food: Couscous

Over the holidays I was a bit lazy when it came to baby food making.

Part of it was the fact that my mom (and Steve) decided it would be a great idea to give Pax a sugar cookie. OH boy. That was interesting. After he finished his own tiny little piece, he literally GRABBED a huge chunk OUT of Steve’s mouth and popped it in his. Needless to say, the kid was on a sugar high for awhile…

Also, Steve’s aunt started feeding him mashed potatoes with butter… which, if you’ve followed the blog for awhile… it not the best thing for a kid with a milk protein allergy.

Anyway, I digress.

The point being that I tried to keep our little pea on the healthy track over the holidays, but I wasn’t entirely successful πŸ™‚

Today, inspired by a friend’s comment, I decided to make up a new recipe for baby Pax. It’s a couscous “salad” mixture that I would totally eat if it was more heavily seasoned (oh, and if it wasn’t blended into a lovely mushy looking dish).

The verdict is still out on this dish. Pax seemed to like it ok, but he wasn’t in love with it. I think he was just tired when we were trying to feed it to him.

Baby Couscous:

  • 1 c. cooked whole wheat couscous
  • small handful dried cherries
  • small handful raisins
  • 1 green onion
  • 1 tbsp Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 can of chick peas, rinsed and drained
  • water

I pulsed the cherries and raisins till they were in small pieces in the food processor and then added the remaining ingredients and blended. I added water to the dish to thin it out. Pax doesn’t like really thick food, so I needed to add quite a bit of water to get it to Pax-consistency πŸ™‚

Honestly, with a little salt and a “toss” instead of a pulse, I would totally eat this salad πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

Filed under Baby "Pete"

Leave a Reply

