Perfectionist…

From Desiring God Blog…

“As a recovering perfectionist, I sometimes confuse holiness and perfection. Rather than try to reflect on God’s grace or allow its natural compelling work in my life (holiness), I try really hard to do godly things, produce spiritual fruit, and live a neatly tied-up life (perfection).

Sometimes I do this because I believe God can’t love me without my efforts, but most of the time I do this because I am trying to fulfill some arbitrary Christian standard that I think others expect of me or that I expect of myself. I feel like a walk-in freezer forever attempting to keep myself at a constant, controlled temperature.” [the crossed through part was my addition, I don’t feel like God won’t love me w/o works, but the rest SO totally applies to my heart]

You can read the rest of this #truth here.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

