Sun Dried Tomato & Lentil Pasta Salad

So last night I was in a rush. We were headed out to a church even and I wanted to toss something light & healthy together for dinner.

THIS dish fit the bill. It was amazing!! 🙂 It was also a healthy way not to counter-act the jog Pax & I took earlier in the day!!

As we were headed to church, I typed up the ingredients on my iphone. I was planning to go back in and edit the amounts, add instructions, etc. Unfortunately, I hit publish instead 🙂 that’s why there was a random list of ingredients posted last night. Whoops!

Here goes round 2 of this beautiful & tasty dish:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lb of cooked Orzo
  • 8 oz dried Lentils, cooked
  • 1/4-1/2 c. Sun dried tomatoes packed in oil, diced
  • 1/4 c. Fresh shaved Parmesan (or feta)
  • 2 Tbsp Capers
  • 1/4-1/2 c. chopped Pecans (or preferably pine nuts)
  • 1 can Chick peas drained & rinsed

For the dressing:

 

  • Juice of 1& 1/2 lemons
  • Lemon rind from one lemon
  • 1/4 c. olive oil
  • Salt & pepper to taste

Toss all salad ingredients together. Then combine the lemon juice, rind, salt & pepper and stream in the olive oil while whisking. Pour dressing over salad and chill.

Steve ate this warm last night…but I think it’s better cold.

I love it when summer meals come together in a flash.  Also, I swear each time I take a bite of this dish I like it more and more 🙂 Make it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pasta, Salads

Leave a Reply

