Wheat Berries & Root Veggie Salad

When we lived in Norway, there was this soup. Oh, the soup. It was amazing. It was a fish soup (ok, I know I lost some of you here)….that was so creamy and had an undertone of sweetness (orange juice!) to it. Anyway, the reason I bring this up is b/c I’m pretty sure it was the first time I ever at a rutabaga.

Don’t get me wrong, I had heard about rutabagas before…I’d just never actually purchased one at the store and attempted to cook it. Big mistake. I missed out for nearly 3 decades (at the time…cough cough).

I eventually made the soup at home after returning to ATX and was successfully able to navigate the rutabaga!! YAY!

Enter this recipe. I was searching for something to make with Farro (or wheat berries)…which incidentally, I just learned are very similar (but not the exact same). They come from different types of wheat plants…one grown in colder weather states and one in warmer. But I digress.

I happened up on this recipe and knew I had to give it a whirl.

As far as the veggies were concerned, I included: carrots, butternut squash, celery, parsnips, & onions…. no rutabagas. Sad. The recipe called for them, but the store was out that day!!!

I followed this recipe and added in the thyme, olive oil & a splash of vinegar. OH so good! The idea of root veggies seemed a bit out of season but the dish hit the spot nonetheless!

Leave a comment

Filed under Salads, Side dishes

Leave a Reply

