Chilled Avocado Cucumber Soup

I literally just finished a bowl of this refreshing soup, and I didn’t want to wait to blog about it….lest I forget the ingredients!

Poor Steve, the whole time I was eating it I kept saying, “oh my gosh, this is sooooo good. It’s just amazing. Steve you need to try this” etc. 😉 Steve is not a big avocado fan~ so he thought it was “just ok” but boy, if you love avocados like I do, you’re going to love this soup. Perfect for a lunch when the weather is a million degrees outside (read: high 90s this weekend…99 on saturday!!). Texas friends, I know, it’s not that hot (definitely not 107 like some of y’all are experiencing!).

Ingredients:

  • 1 large english cucumber (seedless), rough chopped
  • 2 ripe avocados
  • 2 green onions
  • 2 tsp sea salt (or less to taste)
  • 1/2 c. buttermilk (I used the low fat variety)
  • 1 to 1/2c. water
  • tomatoes & green onions for topping if desired
  • optional: the juice from 1/2 of a lime

Throw cucumbers, green onions, and avocado into a food processor or blender and mix till completely minced/incorporated. Then gradually pour in the buttermilk and the water to reach your desired consistency. I like soup a bit thicker so I only added 1 c. of water. Salt to taste and top with tomatoes (fresh from the garden!) I tossed in a bit of lime juice and it was good, but definitely not necessary. I *think* the buttermilk should keep the avocado from browning… but we’ll see tomorrow!! It makes approx 4 c. of soup. this would also be great with a dollop of greek yogurt 🙂 YUM!

Leave a comment

Filed under Soups

Leave a Reply

