Steve’s Favorite Granola Bars

As of late, I’ve been lazy in the kitchen. This translates to Paxton getting graham crackers & kashi cereal bars when he wants a snack… which translates to me feeling like a crappy mom for feeding him, well, crap. Okay, it’s not all crap, but honestly, I don’t like feeding him stuff that has high fructose corn syrup or transfat.

Enter this granola recipe. I figured this would be a good treat for him when he’s asking for a snack.

I based the recipe off Ina Garten’s granola bar recipe and followed her steps carefully. They were wonderful!! Steve took a few bites and said something like “these are the best granola bars you’ve ever made” (which is saying a lot b/c I’ve made many a granola bar). He then went on to say, “can you be sure to save this recipe” ~ yes honey, yes, I can πŸ™‚ so here it is!!

Here’s the link to the original recipe.

My version:

  • 2 1/4 cups old-fashioned oatmeal
  • 1 1/4 cup chopped pecans & walnuts (or whatever nuts you have on hand)
  • 1 cup shredded coconut, loosely packed (I used sweetened)
  • 1/4 c. flax seed
  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • a little less than 2/3 cup honey (I ran out πŸ™‚ so I supplemented with a few Tbsp of Agave nector…which I just recently read is suppose to be terrible for you?!? I need to do more investigating on that one)
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 cup chopped dried cherries
  • 1/4 cup chopped dried raisins
  • 1/2 cup dried craisins
  • 3 Tbsp pumpkin seeds (these were left over from some other recipe)
  • 1/4 c. sesame seeds
  • cinnamon to taste

Preheat oven to 350. Butter a 9×13 pan THEN cover with Parchment paper. I thought this sounded weird in Ina’s instructions, but I did it anyway. It was awesome. The bars came out easily after baking/cooling.Reduce oven to 300.

On a dry baking sheet/jelly roll pan, combine the oatmeal, coconut, and nuts. Toast at 350 for approx 10 minutes till fragrant (stir occasionally). When toasted, put in a large bowl. Stir in Flax seed, dried fruit, cinnamon, and seeds.

Meanwhile, combine the honey, butter, brown sugar, vanilla, and salt in a small sauce pan. Heat till boiling and then pour over oatmeal mixture. Stir to combine. Pour into prepared 9×13, press down with wet fingers, and bake at 300 for 25-30 min. Let set to cool for at least 2 hrs. Reviewers complained that the bars crumbled if this step wasn’t done. I waited the 2 hrs and then pulled the parchment paper out. I cut these bars with a pizza cutter on the counter and they were just perfect!

*Note. I pulsed up the dried fruit and nuts pretty finely (in separate batches in the food processor) so that Pax wouldn’t spit them out πŸ™‚ Also, theΒ  reviewers of this recipe said that they freeze well!

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast, Snacks

One response to “Steve’s Favorite Granola Bars

  1. These look delicious…but then again I *LOVE* just about anything from Ina Garten:)

Leave a Reply

