Greek Dip (and Cheesy Ham and Quinoa cups)

We had some friends over last night to play Euchre.

We would call Euchre a “Wisconsin” card game, but apparently, Indiana and Illinois like to say they own it too. Regardless, it’s a fun game to play with 4 people, good food and refreshing drinks.

I made two yummy recipes from Iowa Girl Eats website~

First, I made the cheesey, ham, quinoa cups ~ They were definitely yummy (but I forgot to spray the pan the first time!! AH. So not cool. They still came out, mostly :)). The second batch was better. Pax LOVED LOVED them. I’ll be making them again just for him. I modified Kristen’s recipe slightly… you essentially dump 3 eggs, 2 c. shredded yellow squash, 2 c. cooked quinoa, 2 c. shredded sharp cheddar, 1 tbsp grated red onion, 5 chives (diced), 2 tbsp grated parm cheese, 1/4 c. chopped fresh parsley (this is SO good in here!), 1 c. finely diced ham, salt and pepper in a large bowl. Stir to combine.

Then SPRAY a mini muffin pan and load up the cups 🙂 Bake at 350 for 20-25 min. Kristen said 15-20 but I found mine needed to bake a bit longer with the changes. Next time I think I’d add more seasonings as well. They could have used a bit of kick! Head over to IGE to see the amazing photos 🙂

—-

The second recipe was this AMAZING greek dip. There aren’t words for how awesome this dip was… so awesome that I just ended in a preposition… (nerd alert).

You essentially just layer greek yogurt (I used Fage 2% greek yogurt) and hummus (I used roasted pinenut from Sabre) on a plate and then top with your traditional greek-ish toppings. I used tomatoes and cucumbers from the garden and then kalamata olives (pitted obviously), chives, and red onion (finely minced). Then you top it with parsley for a lovely look. I was suppose to put feta on top but I totally forgot!! I didn’t miss it though. 🙂 The Hummus was too darn good. Here’s the link to the original recipe.

Make this for a party or for a meal… full disclosure. I did both. Two days in a row. 🙂 First for the card game and then for my lunch the next day. The first night we served with crackers and then for lunch I ate it with fresh cucumbers. The hummus makes this dish so make sure you make or buy a tasty brand!

2 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Baby "Pete"

2 responses to “Greek Dip (and Cheesy Ham and Quinoa cups)

  1. Lauren

    Ohio, too!! I grew up playing euchre with the family and in the lunch room in high school. Perhaps that’s dorky and I shouldn’t have mentioned it? :o)

  2. Pingback: What we’ve been eating… | Steve and Brit's Blog

Leave a Reply

