You know you’re a real “Chef” when…

… you slice and dice… your fingers.

** disclosure, if you are squeamish, don’t read this post**

Okay, I know that slicing my fingers does not make me a real Chef!! I didn’t go to culinary school~ nor will I 🙂 but I do love to cook/bake and it seems like cutting oneself is a rite of passage, right? And a messy one at that!
In 2006 I was working on my PhD. It was my first year. It was November. Final paper deadlines were approaching and then, one faithful day, I literally sliced off the tip of my finger.

It was bad enough to go to urgent care (Read: would NOT stop bleeding) but not bad enough for stitches (Read: I cut off too small of a chunk to reattach). I had to keep a bandage on it for WEEKS. Do you know how hard it is to type without use of your left middle finger? I do.
I looked like a chicken pecking the keyboard. It wasn’t pretty people.
I still have a permanent scar from the “episode.”

So last week, I’m cruising along chopping veggies at my parents house for a yummy omelet when the knife strikes again.

Now, I should tell you that my mom’s knifes are NOT sharp at all. If I had been at home, I would been in a world of hurt and some serious, ER Room-Type trouble, but luckily, that was not the case. I blame the baby. He was distracting me and my mom was talking to me. Certainly, it’s their fault, right? Not mine. I’m not clumsy at all!!

Needless to say, I sliced off my fingernail on my left index finger. Well, almost off… it was cut through and through, but didn’t “come” off for about a week. You know, since it was attached to my skin and all. Can you say, yuck?

Mom kind of panicked b/c she doesn’t like blood 🙂

That said, she was the most helpful in the situation. She grabbed this cute little dixie cup, filled it with sugar and shoved it in my direction. “Here”, she said, “sugar stops bleeding and it’s anti-microbial” hmmm… didn’t know that. Well, it totally worked. The bleeding subsided and I bandaged my finger up. Fun fun stuff. I’m now on the mend, but still missing a good chunk of my nail. It’s pretty gross looking. But I know it could be a lot worse. Like last time, for instance!

All that to say, I think I need to be more CAREFUL with my knives… (read: Brit, pay attention when you cut veggies!!!)

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

