Spending time

I often comment here (and in “real life”) that there are never enough hours in the day to get everything done; there’s simply never enough time. Time to spend with Pax & Steve, time to shop and cook our meals, time to clean up from those meals and keep the house from being condemned! Time to teach, prep, grade, WRITE. Seriously. There is never enough time.

Something that has gone by the wayside with the time crunch – and I am sincerely embarrassed to admit this – is my bible reading. There’s always some excuse, something more pressing, something more “important.” But really, what is more important than spending time with Jesus?

Today, I got up a bit earlier than normal and spent a full hour in the word and reading systematic theology (nerd alert!). It was glorious. And you know what? I’ve been more productive today because of it. So thanks Jesus for pushing me to get exactly what I needed today!!

Now I will fully admit that an hour is not going to happen every day. But a passage, a versus even would be so refreshing to my exhausted body and mind. I just need to REMEMBER that each day when I rise.

“In the morning, when I rise, give me Jesus.” Amen.

Leave a comment

Filed under Musings

Leave a Reply

