Babysitters & Date Night

Steve & I have been blessed enough (and strong enough) to leave Pax in the care of others overnight a few times already in his short little life. Let me start by saying, it is SO hard to leave him~ but it is also so incredibly good for us and our marriage.

Over the last few months we’ve been talking about how important it is to spend time together, just the two of us. Date night is a must in marriage (in my humble opinion)!!

Up to this point, we had only left Pax at night time with our folks and our day time babysitter who we love like she’s our blood. Last night for the first time we left pre-bed time and came back post-bed time with a non “family” member. We are so blessed to have friends who love and care for our son. Here’s the key for us … would the sitter/caregiver save our son if the building was burning to the ground or run out the door and save themselves? Obviously, we’re looking for the former!!! And I can say without a shadow of a doubt that our sweet sitter from last night wouldn’t think twice about it. We are so blessed by her and her love for our son!! Thanks GeNae … or “Nae” as Pax would say 🙂

Oh, and not only did we come home to a soundly sleeping child, but one who is now able to clearly articulate the word “TEXAS”

Score. I think we’ll keep her.

Next time GeNae, you must teach him “Hook ’em Horns”

ps. in case you’re wondering what we did on date night…Chris Young Concert!!!

1 Comment

Filed under Baby "Pete", Musings

One response to “Babysitters & Date Night

  1. Nae

    I will work on getting him to say “Hook ’em Horns”, he did say “Horns” I just didn’t get that on video.

    Thanks for the kind words, I love that you trust me enough to leave your little one in my care. I so enjoy my P time! Call me anytime, us Longhorns have to stick together! 😉

    LOVE YOU!

Leave a Reply

